Papa's Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This recipe is fast,easy & delicious. Like other reviewers I have done this with chicken saddle legs, and wings. I also add some garlic & onion powder and white pepperto the brine mixture. I put the wings in later in the boiling process so they don't fall apart. Everyone at my house loves it. Don't be intimidated by all the vinegar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homegoddess1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Justice, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
DELICIOUS! I was a little unsure about the 1/4 cup of salt, but I put it in anyway. This chicken was very moist and flavorful...didn't even need salt on it when we ate. We will definitely make it again. One thing to note..the vinegar smell is REALLY strong when you are cooking this. My nose was tingling even at the back of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Moist and great tasting. Made the recipe as written and it was packed with flavor. Great way to use bone-in chicken. Thanks Coasterphile for sharing your recipe - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
06/20/11 Oh my goodness this was delicious! Was hesitant about making this at first due to the amount of apple cider vinegar, margarine/butter and salt. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the salt. I cut the salt amount in half, as I was unsure if omitting it would affect the recipe. To be honest, the next time (and there will be a next time) I make this recipe, I will omit it completely, as I don't normally use salt in my cooking, and I don't think it will be missed. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Excellent - just tried it. Would not chenge a thing and will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I loved it! Don't be intimidated by the vinegar, it actually ends up with a mild flavor. I didn't have quite enough vinegar on hand so I made up the difference with apple juice. Also cut the salt down to 1 tablespoon. It does have a very strong odor when boiling so keep a window open. Next time I may try boiling it on my grill's side burner - no smell in the house and I can transfer it right over to the grill when it's done boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
OMG. My husband and I loved this chicken. My husband said "Don't tell anyone about his recipe we can cook it for company and be a big hit". I love vinegar and it had just a hint of it when it finished on the BBQ. Be careful not to overcook in the vinegar it will still cook more on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Have made recipe twice and loved it each time! Sounds weird, smells pungent, tastes amazing. Skin is crunchy, inside is juicy. Last time I used chicken leg quarters so cheaper and more juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Really good! Instead of salt, I used chicken seasoning. My family liked it! I used chicken legs and threw them on the George Foreman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Nicely Done!!! This recipe is amazing!!! I followed the directions all the way. I used kosher salt which makes a little difference. Everyone enjoyed, and said that this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!~*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States