Papa's Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
06/20/11 Oh my goodness this was delicious! Was hesitant about making this at first due to the amount of apple cider vinegar, margarine/butter and salt. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the salt. I cut the salt amount in half, as I was unsure if omitting it would affect the recipe. To be honest, the next time (and there will be a next time) I make this recipe, I will omit it completely, as I don't normally use salt in my cooking, and I don't think it will be missed. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Excellent - just tried it. Would not chenge a thing and will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
DELICIOUS! I was a little unsure about the 1/4 cup of salt, but I put it in anyway. This chicken was very moist and flavorful...didn't even need salt on it when we ate. We will definitely make it again. One thing to note..the vinegar smell is REALLY strong when you are cooking this. My nose was tingling even at the back of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I must say that I was surprised at the flavor, absolutely delicious. The only change that I might make is reduce the salt by half. But other than that, this is definately something that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark McClurken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I loved it! Don't be intimidated by the vinegar, it actually ends up with a mild flavor. I didn't have quite enough vinegar on hand so I made up the difference with apple juice. Also cut the salt down to 1 tablespoon. It does have a very strong odor when boiling so keep a window open. Next time I may try boiling it on my grill's side burner - no smell in the house and I can transfer it right over to the grill when it's done boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
OMG. My husband and I loved this chicken. My husband said "Don't tell anyone about his recipe we can cook it for company and be a big hit". I love vinegar and it had just a hint of it when it finished on the BBQ. Be careful not to overcook in the vinegar it will still cook more on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Moist and great tasting. Made the recipe as written and it was packed with flavor. Great way to use bone-in chicken. Thanks Coasterphile for sharing your recipe - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Unless I'm missing something, you can't taste the vinegar execpt on outside pieces and it's NOT strong. I followed the recipe exactly. Both my husband & I felt the same way. Like another reviewer said, the vingar smell is very, very strong when boiling and after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Have made recipe twice and loved it each time! Sounds weird, smells pungent, tastes amazing. Skin is crunchy, inside is juicy. Last time I used chicken leg quarters so cheaper and more juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Really good! Instead of salt, I used chicken seasoning. My family liked it! I used chicken legs and threw them on the George Foreman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States