Papa's Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I will definitely have to make this again. I didn't have the full 5 cups of apple cider vinegar and so I only used 2 cups but kept the same amount of Worcestershire sauce at 2 tbps. I also reduced the salt to 1/8 of a cup as other reviewers suggested. I used butter instead of margarine and used boneless chicken breasts. The flavor of these chicken breasts was so delicious. Unfortunately, when I took my chicken breasts off of the grill (I grilled on a stove top pan), the breasts weren't fully cooked through. I ended up halving the breasts and putting them pack in the pan for another 5-6 minutes. This made them a bit less moist, but the flavor was definitely still there. I've learned my lesson and next time I'll halve the breasts before cooking or else pound the breasts to make them thinner. My mistakes aside, the recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I liked, family didn't so much....too vinagary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I loved the flavor but the chicken turned out quit dry, probably due to using skinless breasts. I will definitely try this again because the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made this more than a few times. The only changes I made was to only boil the chicken for 20 mins max. I also use the mixture as a marinade I take it out of the fridge and take the chicken out and bring the brine to a boil and then cook the chicken. When grilling I add some garlic powder. If calories are not an issue I add a pat of butter under the skin after I flip them on the grill. YUMMY !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmr777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Didnt really have much flavor and my chicken turned out kind of dry. Don't plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The best grilled chicken I've eaten. Good with thighs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I think this would have been very good, but they burned on the grill, and were very dried out (too long on the grill?). Probably not worth the extra time needed to poach in the briny mixture; it boiled over while simmering and made a huge sticky mess all over my kitchen stove and cabinets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving this a three, because my mother and my husband raved and my kids liked it, but I thought the vinegar flavor was just too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Ya it's ok but I like my chicken more grilled or breaded or fried. This is healthier but you can still cook somewhat healthy chicken if breaded or lightly fried with the right seasonings and drainded of most grease. Just not all the time. This chicken to me was ok but kind of boreing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was SO wonderful! Unfortunately I cooked too long in vinegar mix so chicken wasn't as juicy as others report. We thought salty-tangy flavor was just right, but if you aren't used to salt in your cooking, I recommend maybe 1/8 cup salt instead of 1/4. WILL make again, cooking for no longer than 25 minutes in the vinegar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States