Papas Rellenas (Fried Stuffed Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Really good recipe, kids loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Every Cuban restaurant in my area has stuffed potato balls, and this one really tastes authentic. There definitely was a preparation learning curve for me as far as stuffing the potatoes. When I finished, I had left over bread crumbs, beef filling, and too many eggs. I used a mashed potato scoop, cut the potatoes in half, stuffed one side with the meat, added the other side and squeezed it into a ball. My potato balls needed more meat stuffing, and next time, I will add filling to each half, and then press together to seal the potato balls. Also, in the future, I will start with 2 eggs, and 1 cup of bread crumbs; you always can add more if necessary. On the positive side, they tasted wonderful, and I definitely will make again. I made these 3 days ago, froze them, defrosted today, deep fried this evening, and they turned out great. One thing the recipe doesn't mention is hot sauce, and these potato balls always are served with hot sauce on the side, so be sure to put your favorite hot sauce on the table. Thanks alu1977, these are the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I followed the directions completely. Needed more salt in both the potato mixture as well as the meat. Also to get the crumbly soft meat thats in the ones I'm used to I will cook the meet like I do for coney sauce in water then add the onion pepper mixture. These were very labor intensive but well worth it. YEA Dont have to order them online or make a trip to Florida! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My wife said these came out great better than the ones from Porto's in Glendale. I added extra salt to the potatoes and semi-froze the meat in mini muffin pans then put two meat blobs together and covered in potato. Then rolled in egg and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by Peter Fitzpatrick
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe! I tried it today and it came out delicious! I have to admit i did season my meat differently leaving out the cumin and tomato paste to make it more to our liking. But then end result was great! thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Fitzpatrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Since we are vegetarian, I used TVP and followed the directions. Except I didn't refrigerate or freeze the balls, which may explain why they were more like squares. Nevertheless, the family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Serve with Sriracha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My husband said " these were better than his Abuelo" thanks for the fantastic recipe. First time trying this and the directions made it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Love the recipe.... I did season the meat, potatoes and the eggs.. added a few extras including a harbanero pepper to the meat for more of a kick. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States