Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Wonderful and not too hard to make. Even fun for the kids to roll out the dough and shape the pretzels. Made these about 10 times so far since they are SO good. I found if I do not added butter on top they get more of a golden brown, or maybe just be sure to add a little butter not too much. Just experiment with one or two with the butter since it could depend on your oven. Also I made a water/baking soda bath so you don't need to flip the pretzels, and a spatula to scoop them out. If you do not dip them in the water/baking soda bath, you can make them dessert pretzels by adding sugar and cinnamon on top. Do use a flat baking sheet without ridges as these things tend to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Okay, I totally was planning on taking a picture but we ate the pretzels before I could snap a pic. They were fabulous and fun to make with the whole family! Enjoy a pretzel and a beer or glass of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made these with my step-son for a Social Studies project about German food. We just had to sample one when they came out of the oven and we were very impressed (with ourselves). Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
These are great. I made them for the first time yesterday and turned into a fun activity with the kids. Did not make any adjustments other than I doubled everything. I served as part of a bratwurst and sauerkraut dinner - these were the in place of rolls - people enjoyed the novelty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Mine didn't turn out great, they stuck to the pan. I tried again with more grease on the pan and they still stuck. And I guess I'm used to sourdough pretzels because these just tasted like rolls in the shape of a pretzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Best pretzel recipe I have tried so far! This had a thin crispy shell, but a soft middle. It was perfection, my entire household agrees! Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These turned out AMAZING. Nice and crunchy outside, soft inside. Perfect pretzel taste. Added more flour like others stated and a bit more salt. Did the kneading with my Kitchen Aid mixer. Been looking for a good pretzel recipe and this one is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Wowza, these are great pretzels! I've tried to make pretzels before, but they were not even close to the goodness of these. Super delicious. I wasn't very good at shaping them, so we turned out with 4 weird looking pretzels and 8 pretzel "sticks". I also proofed the yeast with the water and sugar before I added the rest of the ingredients and kneaded it in the kitchen aid. I think the baking soda water does the trick. We will be making these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I must have done something wrong. They came out soft and buttery not crisp with a soft inside. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States