Pap Walters' Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I had to use a 10" skillet on my second try because the center didn't get done. On the second try the cornbread got done, and it rose high enough in the bigger skillet. Great taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marcellus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was skeptical of this recipe, since I am not a fan of cottage cheese, but I love cast iron skillet-made corn bread and am always looking for a great recipe. I will look no more - I have found it! This truly is moist cornbread. I changed nothing. I didn't taste the cottage cheese, but it obviously made it moist - and the bacon fat really added to the flavor. It reminds me of the cornbread my grandmother made when I was a kid (but it's more moist)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Awesome. This is how cornbread should taste. Cook it up just like the recipe says. Thanks to Pap Walters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. I'm 76yrs old and have lived in the south all of my life and know cornbread. This is the first to include cottage cheese as an ingredient. Thank you for sharing Pap's recipe. We enjoyed it and I'll make it again. Allrecipes is my favorite site for cooking ideas and I'll never understand how cooks completely change a recipe and rate it down when it's no longer the same recipe after they finish destroying the original. I don't have an answer for this because you see it all the time in reviews but it's a real flaw in the idea of a review. And so unfair to the individual who took the time to write and share a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The recipe is wonderful if you use common sense and do not change everything in the recipe. You can even use glass bakeware instead of cast iron like I did for this recipe and it was outstanding. You cannot bake a cake in a dish that is deep on high heat close to a burner - the center will not finish because there is too much batter and the heat is to high for the batter to completely cook. Most of the changes on here to recipes are good -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Anything with bacon fat must be yummy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Borderline fantastic! Thanks Pap for reavealing your secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Favorite. I use butter instead of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Tastes JUST like my grandmothers only MOIST!! Everyone loved it. This is a real southern cornbread recipe. NOT SWEET! cornbread is a bread and not supposed to be sweet, corn cakes & corn muffins are supposed to be sweet! Next time I will cut the fat to a 1/8 c. cause I like to butter my skillet so the crust is extra crunchy and buttery so it was a little too greasy for me with the butter AND bacon grease. YUM! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
After googling, I made my own self-rising cormeal mix (I don't keep that on hand, just regular cornmeal). The only thing this recipe was missing was sugar, my family likes their cornbread sweet so I used a scant 3/4 cup. Before baking, I threw a good portion of butter into the cold skillet and let it warm in the oven as it preheated, then swirled the butter around in the hot pan before adding the cornbread batter. This cornbread was very moist and the bacon fat made it REALLY tasty. My husband liked the flavor the cottage cheese gave to this cornbread, he though I'd added sour cream. Good recipe that is easily personalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States