Pap Walters' Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Anything with bacon fat must be yummy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I made my own self-rising cornmeal based on the ingredients given on a food substitution website. I didn't take it into consideration that there is already a fat in this recipe and used both (the one described in the substitution and on here) which may have caused my cornbread to be overly moist. Instead of buttermilk I used another substitution; 2% milk and lemon juice. I used 2% cottage cheese. I added chopped up bacon and diced roasted red peppers. I do not have a cast-iron skillet so I greased a small rectangular baking dish and baked it for 25 minutes. The crust was a dark brown, but the top was only slightly golden and it was very moist but cooked in the middle. The cottage cheese is great in this recipe. I think I'll try combining this and the "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" recipe to see if that hits right in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Borderline fantastic! Thanks Pap for reavealing your secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
After googling, I made my own self-rising cormeal mix (I don't keep that on hand, just regular cornmeal). The only thing this recipe was missing was sugar, my family likes their cornbread sweet so I used a scant 3/4 cup. Before baking, I threw a good portion of butter into the cold skillet and let it warm in the oven as it preheated, then swirled the butter around in the hot pan before adding the cornbread batter. This cornbread was very moist and the bacon fat made it REALLY tasty. My husband liked the flavor the cottage cheese gave to this cornbread, he though I'd added sour cream. Good recipe that is easily personalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was so so for my family. The outside darkened more then I cared for and the cottage cheese made it super moist, that the outside was done a lot quicker then the inside but sorry to say, it's not something I'd make again, just because of my family's preferences. It just didn't taste the way we all expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I had to use a 10" skillet on my second try because the center didn't get done. On the second try the cornbread got done, and it rose high enough in the bigger skillet. Great taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marcellus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. I'm 76yrs old and have lived in the south all of my life and know cornbread. This is the first to include cottage cheese as an ingredient. Thank you for sharing Pap's recipe. We enjoyed it and I'll make it again. Allrecipes is my favorite site for cooking ideas and I'll never understand how cooks completely change a recipe and rate it down when it's no longer the same recipe after they finish destroying the original. I don't have an answer for this because you see it all the time in reviews but it's a real flaw in the idea of a review. And so unfair to the individual who took the time to write and share a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The recipe is wonderful if you use common sense and do not change everything in the recipe. You can even use glass bakeware instead of cast iron like I did for this recipe and it was outstanding. You cannot bake a cake in a dish that is deep on high heat close to a burner - the center will not finish because there is too much batter and the heat is to high for the batter to completely cook. Most of the changes on here to recipes are good -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Favorite. I use butter instead of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was skeptical of this recipe, since I am not a fan of cottage cheese, but I love cast iron skillet-made corn bread and am always looking for a great recipe. I will look no more - I have found it! This truly is moist cornbread. I changed nothing. I didn't taste the cottage cheese, but it obviously made it moist - and the bacon fat really added to the flavor. It reminds me of the cornbread my grandmother made when I was a kid (but it's more moist)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States