Panzanella Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Great! I didn't have hard bread so I made my own by baking some sandwich bread until it was hard like croutons and then using it in the recipe. I also roasted the garlic a bit just to make sure it was cooked. Fresh mozzarella made this soooo good. I will put in more mozzarella and less olives next time I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
What a nice twist to the traditional recipe. I loved the idea of toasting the bread with the garlic, oil and seasonings (I used an herb blend). It mellowed the garlic just enough to take the edge off. I left the salt out of the recipe and added brined capers to compensate. I suggest that the mozzarella cubes be added after the salad is plated to preserve their deliciousness. By the way, I used a chewy bread for this recipe - ciabatta was what I had and it really held up. I'm sure focaccia would work such as well. Don't waste your time with supermarket breads for this tasty dish. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Fantastic! This recipe just replaced my old bread salad recipe.I used black olives and capers, WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
good the first day. horrible as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
WOW! This is Excellant! I used Klamanti (sp?)olives and a few capers. This could be a meal for me. It got rave reviews at a dinner party tonight. Fresh olive oil, mozzarella and basil are key. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I just LOVED this!! It was very good and something different for my taste buds. It is a visually stunning recipe, and totally Delish! I only made one little change( Cring!!), I used smoked Gouda instead of the mozzarella.The fact that I could get a day old loaf of perfectly great bread and turn it into something completely different was worth trying this recipe! Thank you very much.:) Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Oh my heaven in a bowl!! This was the best salad I have ever had!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was really good. DH husband loved it. Subed red wine vinegar and sugar (was out of balsamic) also used black olives as that what I had on hand. Delicious and pretty on the plate. Thanks for the great recipe ;))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Yum! I used black olives and a mixture of yellow and red grape tomatoes. I omitted the basil since I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was good, but I would suggest using a little less garlic and onion. It was a little overpowering. Really didn't care for the green olives in this either (and I do like green olives normally!). Do not make too far in advance, the bread will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States