Panzanella Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
In my opinon, your ingredient choices will make or break this salad from 5 star plus to a 2 or 3 star. I have had this about 6 or 7 times (various recipes). By FAR the best is using stale hard rolls or very-chewy Italian bread. If you don't, the bread just becomes mushy instead of that wonderful, chewy, garlic-bread bites that is so special in this recipe. Alot of the flavor is from your choice garlic and oil, too. I use a high quality EVOO and FRESH only: minced garlic, mozzarella and basil leaves. If you don't use the fresh, it alters the flavor significantly. I think cherry or grape tomato's texture is better suited for this. Capers are a nice added flavor and, as I discovered tonight, so is roasted asparagas. With all that being said...made with our preferences, this goes in the favorite file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Fabulous salad!!! This is bruschetta in a bowl. I used more tomatoes, kalamata olives, and a lot more fresh basil. Due to the small amount of dressing the bread does not get soggy. The leftovers the next day were still good. Tons of great flavor in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
OMG this is super good! I used white balsamic vinegar, no onions, because they are too overpowering, and no olives, personal choice. The flavors mix wonderfully and it's the perfect summer salad. It was so hot here today that I toasted the bread on the bbq in a pan of course, using the indirect method, they came out perfect and had that smokey flavor. I used smart balance instead of olive oil on the bread too. I will make this again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This is a FANTASTIC salad. I used it as a foundation and added some chopped fresh spinach leaves to it. The flavors are wonderful. I used the broiler to toast the bread. Then I made a layer of bread, then put the salad on top of it to serve to my family. Even my 7 year old grandson loved it! Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
WOW! This is a fantastic dish!!! My family of picky eaters loved it. I didnt have any fresh basil on hand so I substituted dried italian seasoning. I also used black and green olives and added pepperoni because I had some that I needed to use up and it really made the salad delicious. My husband has already asked when we can have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marni
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Excellent summer salad. I used Kalamata olives in place of the green (b/c that's what I had.) Everyone raved about this dish! Can't wait to try w/ capers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This salad is AWESOME! I loved it and so did the family. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
this was great compared to others but i added artichokes hearts soo good thnxx, veggie mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEL ;D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is definitely one of my favorite salads. The capers really make it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This is great. I used french bread for the croutons and sea salt instead of ordinary salt in the seasoning. I didn't have olives so had to leave them out but will make again soon with them Very enjoyable. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States