Pantry Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tom
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe but didn't put in oregano. It didn't need it. Put in a little extra garlic, anchovies, capers and olives. I also used linguini Easy to make and delicious. PS Of course a little "Reggiano" to finish it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
love, love, love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made puttanesca for many many years and this is the first time I decided to look it up and go with a recipe. This was an incredible recipe. Although I did add a seafood medley of shrimp, prawns and calamari. I also put the whole can of anchovies in and it was delicious. I love seafood so one last thing, after I added noodles and I was cooking the whole dish together, I put a small fillet of salmon over the top of the entire dish, just have something to munch on later, and wow did that add some great flavors to that fillet. I didn't eat the salmon with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
So easy and delicious! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javella74
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Superb as written! I had to separate out a portion prior to adding the anchovies as I am allergic to fish, but add them if you possibly can. They don't taste fishy. They just add a savory nuance that perks up the rest of the flavors in the dish. And that's the beauty of puttanesca! Because the sauce is so easy and comes together so fast, it's no trouble to set a portion aside before adding an ingredient that give some eaters trouble. I served it with whole wheat spaghetti and crushed red pepper on the side for those who like more heat. Keep the salad simple - sliced cucumbers are nice - and you can have dinner on the table within 20 min of walking through the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was good! I think it could definitely use more than 1/4 teaspoon of pepper flakes... and maybe more olives :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious! I love this kind of pasta sauce--I love the bold flavors of the tomato, capers and olives, and I haven't found a puttanesca recipe I didn't like. You have to like all of those flavors, though, or you'll end up with a dish you don't like. And, it just wouldn't be the same without all of the flavors. I will admit I didn't use the anchovies--I never have them; in fact, I've never bought them in my life and only tried them once. I don't have any dislike of anchovies; just don't have them. I used green olives with pimento since that is what I had, and didn't chop the capers. Yum! My only comments are that you could put in the tomatoes undrained--you'd just have to cook longer--and you don't need that much oil. I used just enough to coat the pan. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Loved this recipe! I made it just as written, with whole grain linguini. My husband had seconds and ate the leftovers before I had a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful recipe that is quick and easy to prepare, as well as bursting with flavor. The only change I made was to serve this over fresh linguini pasta. This one is going into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States