Panko Crusted Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is the second time I've tried these. I figured I should give the recipe another chance and make some modifications and I think I'm going to make these yet again and modify them further. This time I used only 1 egg in the potatoes and did not dredge the potato pancakes in the flour and egg. Simply rolling them in panko made them slightly easier to work with. Next time I make these I'm going to skip the egg all together! Unless you're making dry mashed potatoes (no milk and butter) there really is no need for the additional moisture from the egg. Just add the flavourings, form and roll in the panko. It doesn't need anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyMTeets
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were pretty good! If you find that your potatoes are not consistent enough to roll into balls, add potato flakes until you're able to roll them. I also breaded with Italian bread crumbs. Theses would be great with shredded cheese in them and topped with sour cream ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Dredging these in the Panko crumbs is a wonderful idea. I used just 1 egg, though, and that made for an easier mixture to handle. Will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were delicious! Patties were hard to shape because the mashed potato mixture wasn't very thick. I had to add flour to make it thick. Very crispy outside which is my favorite party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Delicious, but mechanics of process didn't work for me. After having problems with patties, I oiled my hands, formed 1/3 C balls which I rolled in the flour, egg & Panko crumbs. Only when these were all prepared did I add them to the skillet and gently flatten with a spatula. The second time I made this, I added 1 tsp each dried oregano, dried basil & garlic powder. I want to try this one with a blue cheese topping, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were great! I took other reviewers advice and only use 1 egg and then dipped in 1 egg before rolling in the Panko. I added cheese and 1 TB of dry ranch dressing and some salt. I cooked the onion to golden brown before adding for extra flavor. Definitely spray your hands so you can roll them and they wont stick. I fried in EVOO/butter mix. Definitely a keep in my house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a creative side dish, but wayyyyyy to MESSY! not worth it, My mashed potatoes are very creamy and with that style potatoes to work with this did not work at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I liked this recipe. i used chakalaka(A blend of Syrah, Mourvedre, Carignan, Petite Syrah, Grenache and Tannat) spice in place of black pepper and my family love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gilzam
Home Town: Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
While this was a tad messy. It turned out well from what my family said. I thought it was to peppery myself. And ended up making not just a double batch, but a half a batch more on top of that to knock out some of the pepper, because that's all I could taste in the mixing round. I also minced the onions in this recipe. But again everyone else told me that the pepper flavor was just fine and went for seconds. The thing I would recommend to others when it comes to dredging method with the egg dipping part. Is use a small but shallow dish for the eggs when dipping the patty into it. And use a spatula to handle and flip to coat the egg onto both sides. If not, you are going to have to be very creative not to have your patty broken up and just a ploppy mess. Just warning others. But We did like the recipe. I can see making this again but still not adding as much black pepper into this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this and it was great, though I didn't use the egg and added a tablespoon of Dijon mustard. It was amazing!! Also, I baked them in the oven instead of pan-frying them. It makes them healthier, but next time I will try the pan-fried version ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States