Panko Crusted Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
While this was a tad messy. It turned out well from what my family said. I thought it was to peppery myself. And ended up making not just a double batch, but a half a batch more on top of that to knock out some of the pepper, because that's all I could taste in the mixing round. I also minced the onions in this recipe. But again everyone else told me that the pepper flavor was just fine and went for seconds. The thing I would recommend to others when it comes to dredging method with the egg dipping part. Is use a small but shallow dish for the eggs when dipping the patty into it. And use a spatula to handle and flip to coat the egg onto both sides. If not, you are going to have to be very creative not to have your patty broken up and just a ploppy mess. Just warning others. But We did like the recipe. I can see making this again but still not adding as much black pepper into this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Delicious, but mechanics of process didn't work for me. After having problems with patties, I oiled my hands, formed 1/3 C balls which I rolled in the flour, egg & Panko crumbs. Only when these were all prepared did I add them to the skillet and gently flatten with a spatula. The second time I made this, I added 1 tsp each dried oregano, dried basil & garlic powder. I want to try this one with a blue cheese topping, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Definitely skip the extra egg -- it makes the pancakes too hard to handle. We combined the flour and panko together and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used one egg and more onions and placed a slice of cheese on top just until melted. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is the second time I've tried these. I figured I should give the recipe another chance and make some modifications and I think I'm going to make these yet again and modify them further. This time I used only 1 egg in the potatoes and did not dredge the potato pancakes in the flour and egg. Simply rolling them in panko made them slightly easier to work with. Next time I make these I'm going to skip the egg all together! Unless you're making dry mashed potatoes (no milk and butter) there really is no need for the additional moisture from the egg. Just add the flavourings, form and roll in the panko. It doesn't need anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Dredging these in the Panko crumbs is a wonderful idea. I used just 1 egg, though, and that made for an easier mixture to handle. Will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were delicious! Patties were hard to shape because the mashed potato mixture wasn't very thick. I had to add flour to make it thick. Very crispy outside which is my favorite party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by AmyMTeets
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were pretty good! If you find that your potatoes are not consistent enough to roll into balls, add potato flakes until you're able to roll them. I also breaded with Italian bread crumbs. Theses would be great with shredded cheese in them and topped with sour cream ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was super good!!! I added more chopped onion about 1/2 cup as we like onion,and it gave it a sweet flavorful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These is great recipe to use your left over mashed potatoes! I didn't have any left overs, so I used the Betty Crocker boxed kind. I let it chill in the fridge for about 2 hours. I had trouble keeping the potatoes stick in the patty. Next time I will use real mashed potatoes and I think it'll be much better. Also, this recipe had way to much pepper for us, so I will likely cut the pepper in half. I think a little bit of shredded cheddar cheese mixed the potatoes would add a nice touch. Overall excellent starter recipe - so thank you! I'm always looking for something different to do with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States