Panko Crusted Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were great! I took other reviewers advice and only use 1 egg and then dipped in 1 egg before rolling in the Panko. I added cheese and 1 TB of dry ranch dressing and some salt. I cooked the onion to golden brown before adding for extra flavor. Definitely spray your hands so you can roll them and they wont stick. I fried in EVOO/butter mix. Definitely a keep in my house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My husband and I really liked these. I added extra onion grated finely in the food processor, salt and pepper. I skipped the flour and egg for dredging and did have to add some flour to the mix to get it firmer and easier to work with. I formed the mix into a ball, rolled in the panko crumbs, and put in the oil. Then I flattened with the spatula. Make sure the first side is crispy before turning. I was making open faced hot pork sandwiches to go with these but my hubby just put the pork and gravy over the potato cakes. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were very good. I was a great way to use up some leftover mashed potatoes. I did not add the 1 egg to the mashed potatoes, they would have been too wet that way. They were a little difficult to coat with the bread crumbs and get to the pan without falling a part. I just made them very small so that helped in keeping them together. I also add a little shredded cheese to the mixture before I formed them into patties. They tasted great, I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe. Only variation for me was sauteed onion and small handful of shreded chedar cheese. Will make again. perfect for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Gave these potato cakes an Italian twist. I mixed in some grated Pecorino Romano cheese, breaded with Italian panko crumbs, garnished with chopped basil, and drizzled the mashed potato cakes with marinara. Made a very nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I didn't use any eggs or flour. I wanted to taste the potatoes. I sauteed some onions and seasoned the mashed potatoes to my liking before I rolled them into balls, then rolled them in the panko crumbs. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was super good!!! I added more chopped onion about 1/2 cup as we like onion,and it gave it a sweet flavorful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were delicious! Patties were hard to shape because the mashed potato mixture wasn't very thick. I had to add flour to make it thick. Very crispy outside which is my favorite party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Dredging these in the Panko crumbs is a wonderful idea. I used just 1 egg, though, and that made for an easier mixture to handle. Will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this and it was great, though I didn't use the egg and added a tablespoon of Dijon mustard. It was amazing!! Also, I baked them in the oven instead of pan-frying them. It makes them healthier, but next time I will try the pan-fried version ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States