Panko-Breaded Fried Razor Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
My family loves to go razor clamming down on the coast of Washington State. This is our go to recipe when catching our limit. We made a big batch of fried razor clams for dinner that night with half our clams, and then a pot of clam chowder for dinner the next night. Panko crumbs are essential for this recipe if you like crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
We absolutely love this recipe! My husband never really cared for the clams until we tried this. Now he loves them! It's the only recipe we ever use. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
First time I ever ate razor clams!! Love the recipe!! Razor clams? Not s'much. LOL I'm not a huge fisher lover. They were alright, I guess, as long as I didn't look at them. LOL I feel like a little kid!! After digging them up, all I could see was their squidgey little bodies and I just couldn't swallow. To those of you who eat these... break them like Danigirl and you got yourself a winner!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Used just seasoned flour (Mike's fish batter), the egg wash, and the panko. Tricky getting the oil temperature just right to brown it without over or undercooking, but once I got that figured out the results were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
We've been cooking razor clams for years and this is by far our favorite recipe!!! I cut the clam into 3 or 4 pieces, you want them good sized and instead of fresh parmesan, I use the parmesan/romano mix in the can with green lid. It isn't as chunky, it blends nicely with the panko. It is a bit time consuming, but once you've had them it doesn't seem like all that much work. Each time we make them, the pieces get bigger and bigger so it doesn't take so long to fry them. I like them with fresh lemon squeezed on and them dipped in a little bit of tartar. They are also delicious just by themselves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Living in Western WA gives us opportunity to enjoy clams for dinner almost all year round. After cleaning the clams, we use our Food Saver to vaccuum seal the clams and freeze. When we fry our claims we substitute cornmeal for the flour and add a little cajun seasoning to the Panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Have to spice these up, My husband and I found this recipe bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! I used more like a cup and a half of panko, omitted the Parmesan, and added a generous measure of Old Bay and cayenne pepper to the flour mixture. I cooked the clams for 60 seconds on each side and they came out perfect. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Living in Alaska, we have tried numerous clam preparation methods and recipes. This is by far the best ever. It does take a bit of preparation, but it is totally worth it. I share this with my special friends. We use the necks and diggers for chowder; so with this recipe, only use the "steaks". I like a squeeze of fresh lime on mine, and we all love some fresh, homemade tartar sauce. We are very blessed to have the opportunity to dig and enjoy these razor clams on a regular basis. I should also add that where we live, a hungry man can eat no more than four of these enormouse clam steaks...okay, maybe five. So you may want to adjust the recipe accordingly. Thanks for the recipe; it is exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States