Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Pani Popo ((Samoan Coconut Bread)) the name Pani Popo is Samoan and this is a SAMOAN dessert!!! Never has & never will be a Hawaiian creation. Give credit where credit is due!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This dish is SUPPOSED to be soggy on the bottom! It's meant to be a sweet, sticky dessert - that's the beauty of it. I grew up in Hawaii and all the professionals' pani popo is wet and sticky. So enjoy and don't get discouraged!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is so yummy! I agree that the amount of rolls called for is too few (or the pan should be smaller). I used 12 rolls in a 9" x 13" with the saucy mixture called for, and it turned out wonderfully; I can't imagine that much liquid for only 6 rolls. I will probably use a bit less sugar next time, but overall I loved it. Rich, but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We made these to cook like our homemade cinnamon rolls. Coat bottom of the pan with 1 stick of softened butter. We use 12 of the Rhodes frozen rolls. Use the sugar in the recipe to roll the dough in. Place them in the pan and let rise. Meanwhile mix the coconut milk with 4 TBS of the sweetened condensed milk, pour only half of the mix over the rolls and bake accordingly. When you take them out of the oven use a fork to seperate the rolls and flip them over, so that the tops are facedown in the sauce. Remove rolls from pan and pour remaining coconut milk into the pan to "deglaze it" pour this over the rolls and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was unbelievably delicious! And SO easy! I agree with other reviewers, its much better when it's soggy on the bottom, which mine was. I keep eating the leftovers as they are good cold, or right out of the oven. I've even warmed them up and they are still tasty! Only one thing, I would really only serve these as desert and not with a meal, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
ONO! I am from Hawaii and my Samoan friend makes these for me a lot. I am going to give her THIS recipe because by far...it is better! I love Pani Popo. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this for a themed "Samoan" party we had last week and they were the best. If ever there was a more yummy, ultra simple bread to make, I don't know what it would be. I ended up making 36 and had to double all the ingredients and do two pans for obvious reasons. One of the other reviews said that the rolls should be "swimming" in the coconut mixture prior to baking so I made sure that they were. I did need to add a bit more regular milk to make sure I had enough liquid. It was perfect. One pan had coconut sprinkled on it, the other one didn't. The very few leftovers made a great breakfast with coffee the next morning. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is not Hawaiian. It is Samoan as are the words. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samokee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
We really enjoyed this sweet (but not too sweet to serve with dinner) roll recipe. One thing in the recipe that was confusing though-it calls for a 12 oz. bag of frozen bread dough rolls. I couldn't find this size at the grocery store, so I bought a 48 oz. bag and weighed 12 oz. on my kitchen scale to prepare the recipe. Well, 12 oz. is just 6 rolls. They were swimming in the coconut mixture. I will be sure to use 12 rolls next time despite what the recipe calls for. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe, however... Pani popo is SAMOAN, not Hawaiian as suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States