Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Surely there has to be a better bread than dinner rolls for this. The sauce is delicious but would have been far better on cake or something. Don't get me wrong - it was delicious, but it really tasted like this amazing sauce baked with really crappy dinner rolls. I will have to try again, but I'd like to know what other people are using for their bread (white rolls? kaiser? egg rolls? yeast rolls? crescent rolls?) Any help would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise I am going to get fat trying this recipe out over and over again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigandsherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Yummy and easy! We actually wanted MORE milk in the pan! This Samoan dish is supposed to be wet and sticky. That's why it's so good. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This recipe was great. Just one thing, calling it Hawaiian is misleading. It's actually a SAMOAN dish...anyway to change that? That being said, growing up in Hawaii and marrying into a Samoan family, I've eaten plenty of Pani Popo over the years...your recipe for it is WONDERFUL! PLEASE, PLEASE don't let the soggy-ness turn you off. It is supposed to be that way. Infact, when we make it, we try to make sure that the coconut milk mixture is almost level with the rolls before we put it in the oven. You can't have too much of a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is a Samoan Dish, not Hawaiian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made these for my daughter's luau/ 5th bday party. Everyone loved them especially the guests who came a day early on accident and ate while I was prepping them and ate some more the next day as well. My friends husband immediately asked me for the recipe. I baked them ahead of time and put them in the fridge for a quick reheat. (Perfect for an indoor BBQ) I also used regular 2 % milk for some of the milk instead of the sweetened condensed milk an added a tad more sugar (@ 2tsp). They were a little crisp on the top and a little soggy on the bottom. I can't wait to my nexr chance to make this easy make ahead bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fbarkon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was unbelievably delicious! And SO easy! I agree with other reviewers, its much better when it's soggy on the bottom, which mine was. I keep eating the leftovers as they are good cold, or right out of the oven. I've even warmed them up and they are still tasty! Only one thing, I would really only serve these as desert and not with a meal, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is so yummy! I agree that the amount of rolls called for is too few (or the pan should be smaller). I used 12 rolls in a 9" x 13" with the saucy mixture called for, and it turned out wonderfully; I can't imagine that much liquid for only 6 rolls. I will probably use a bit less sugar next time, but overall I loved it. Rich, but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is so good, I had a hard time finding the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I love this recipe - I don't change a thing! It's great for breakfast potlucks. The one thing that all of my friends and I do is use the layered type refrigerator biscuits. The texture is much softer (soaks up a lot of good stuff) and who doesn't like layers? ;) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kahului, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I love this stuff!!! I got the recipe from a firend and I make it all the time! I actually just use cream of coconut and pour that over the rolls. It shortens the prep time a lot and is delicious. Cream of coconut is in the alcoholic mixes section, though I'm not sure why. Try it. you'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States