Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These are good, although I was taken aback a little by the pudding-like texture of the glaze when the rolls came out of the oven. Still, they taste yummy and I will serve them with Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
These have a wonderful flavor. I can't rate it to a full five because my silly grocery store didn't have the frozen yeast rolls, so I used frozen bread and just cut it into 12 pieces and rolled it into rolls. I used the same amount of everything else and had a lot on the bottom of the pan, so next time I'll go to a different store and get the right rolls to try again. If I can't I'll just cut down on the liquid. My 2 year old didn't like it but I think that she was expecting a regular roll, not something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. I made my own roll dough & I thought the flavor of the rolls w/the coconut sauce was great. I am Samoan & I never really knew how to make these b/c all my family just throws it together w/out measurements- and I prefer measurements! Next time I may cut out the condensed milk, I've never seen it used in a pani popo recipe. Not sure if it's even necessary. Still yummy nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We had a tiki party for our housewarming and I wanted to add a few "authentic" dishes to the mix and this was an absolute hit! All the guests loved it, despite me leaving them in too long!!! I used a whole can of coconut milk and about half a can of condensed milk then added shredded coconut on top of twelve risen dinner rolls. The only thing slightly misleading is the rising time of the rolls - check the packet as I was expecting them to take two hours and they took more like three! My fault for not checking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeraly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
mmmmm sweet but not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe and it is a great! It is a delicious dessert, however Pani Popo is of Samoan origin which is another island in the South Pacific. I've also seen it listed as a Polynesian desert which is more broad but not inaccurate. So this is purely informational. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We made these to cook like our homemade cinnamon rolls. Coat bottom of the pan with 1 stick of softened butter. We use 12 of the Rhodes frozen rolls. Use the sugar in the recipe to roll the dough in. Place them in the pan and let rise. Meanwhile mix the coconut milk with 4 TBS of the sweetened condensed milk, pour only half of the mix over the rolls and bake accordingly. When you take them out of the oven use a fork to seperate the rolls and flip them over, so that the tops are facedown in the sauce. Remove rolls from pan and pour remaining coconut milk into the pan to "deglaze it" pour this over the rolls and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I'm making this recipe using my own recipe for dinner rolls (they're rising right now).. and i just made the sauce. I sampled it (I shouldnt have - BAD idea) and its SO good, it made me feel all happy-funny inside...i had to double check all the ingredients were alcohol free (they were) haha i just know this is gonna be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! Gooey on the bottom as it is supposed to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Gooooooood and easy! It is sticky on the bottom and tastes very good if you drizzle a bit onto the roll before serving. I used light coconut milk and since the only can of coconut milk available was 13.5 oz., I used that, increased the condensed milk to about 4 TBS and decreased the sugar a tad below 3/4 of a cup. I used 12 rolls and that seems like a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States