Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Pani Popo ((Samoan Coconut Bread)) the name Pani Popo is Samoan and this is a SAMOAN dessert!!! Never has & never will be a Hawaiian creation. Give credit where credit is due!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My husband is Samoan and this recipe is actually a Samoan recipe not Hawaiian. I love Pani Popo as I am a coconut fanatic. Nice to see people posting Samoan recipes. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this for a themed "Samoan" party we had last week and they were the best. If ever there was a more yummy, ultra simple bread to make, I don't know what it would be. I ended up making 36 and had to double all the ingredients and do two pans for obvious reasons. One of the other reviews said that the rolls should be "swimming" in the coconut mixture prior to baking so I made sure that they were. I did need to add a bit more regular milk to make sure I had enough liquid. It was perfect. One pan had coconut sprinkled on it, the other one didn't. The very few leftovers made a great breakfast with coffee the next morning. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I had trouble with the recipe so I wasn't impressed. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
So good! I made a few changes: I added 5 tbsp sweetened condensed milk instead of three and used 3/4 cup sugar. I also used a 13.5oz can of coconut milk. I used 12 frozen dinner rolls to fill the 9x13 inch pan - 6 is too few. I also topped it with flaked coconut before baking. Very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
So good. It was unlike any roll I have ever had but in a great way. One of my absolute favorites now. This recipe is exceptional. Everyone at my luau was raving about these. I agree less sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Unbelievably good. This was so easy and good that it leaves you 'CRAVING' more. I made this for a hawaiian party and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to double the amount of rolls and use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My sister and I just made this and it was perfect! My hubby is Samoan and her boyfriend is Tongan so we've both grown accustomed to the Polynesian foods at family gatherings... but we've never tried to make it ourselves. Both my husband and her boyfriend were very pleased with the outcome. The only thing we changed was that we added some grated coconut to the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Pani Popo (Samoan Coconut Bun) You can use cinnamon rolls if you want, just make sure not too much cinnamon, or just brush the top with a sweet glaze when it comes out the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Don't waste your time looking for another recipe. This is it! Someone at work asked what are you eating, the person replied, "A little bit of heaven!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasoula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States