Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made these from scratch once. Didn't go by fast. Won't make again coconut milk will mold bread fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this and added shredded coconut to the recipe. So easy when using Rhodes Frozen Rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
If you have never tried Pani Popo, you are in for a treat! It is a Samoan recipe, but it reminds me of Hawaii. So, good that you will be craving them a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Have made this several times and the only thing I do differently is I used coconut oil rather than cooking spray, but if use that use a Misto and use EVOO. I made 2 pans for a Valentine dinner at our condo yesterday. Got rave reviews and request from many for the recipe. I make probably once a month would do more often but would gain way to much weight. Thanks Kasey for sharing the recipe and the heads up by others that is really Samoan, I do like Islander type of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The recipe is better when you make the rolls yourself instead of using frozen rolls. That's why it came out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I was a bit disappointed with these because I was expecting something like a coconut flavored sticky bun. Instead, it was just a dinner roll soaked in coconut milk. The bottom of the roll was so soaked that it was just a soggy, sloppy, mushy mess. Thinking that I must have made an error, I began reading through the reviews and discovered that is exactly how they are supposed to turn out. Now that I know that, I really can’t give them a bad review because they did taste like a coconut flavored roll. Not something I would have made or would ever make again due to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I read all the reviews and was hopeful this was going to be amazing. It tasted alright I guess. It WAS edible. I made accordingly to the directions. Lets just say it tasted like dinner rolls with a soggy coconut milk bottom. Its not something I will make again. I can find a better use for a can of coconut milk. Besides...dinner rolls taste better to me with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Samoan or Hawaiian this was a good and easy recipe. Although I did double the coconut mix because we love to eat a lot of it. It reminds of home(A.S.) every time I make it. Thanks for the recipe.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Beyond decadent and yummy - ours didn't even make it out of the pan! We kept walking by and taking more. Don't need to have more than a few times a year, though - seriously rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acarp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is easy and it's always a hit. They're good both warm out of the oven and also after being refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States