Panettone Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Dough was more of a batter and difficult to work with and put in panettone forms. Dough collapsed before placing in the oven even working in sloooow moooootion. Cooking temperatures were too high and tops burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a great recipe! The texture was beautiful. It does need salt though. The sweetness was balanced, but I like my panettone a little sweeter; so I increased to 3/4 cup. Also be careful not to overbake. Next time I may bring it down to 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was my first time making Panettone. It turned out great & it will certainly not to be my last time making it, next time I will half the recipe. Used orange instead of vanilla and followed THOMJANICE review. I made it into two 8 in. round tins. Just wish it would stay fresh for more than two days as I am the only one at home now who eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Arsenault

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
the end result was a delicious bread with a beautiful crumb. However I am ambivalent to rate 5 stars due to the lack of salt. Immediately saw it not on the list and salt is necessary to enhance the flavor of any food or baked good. I added 1 tsp. sea salt and it was plenty. I did have to proof it much longer (more like 5 hrs) but was not surprised due to the fruit add-ins. yeast doughs always take longer to rise when they are there. Also had to add about 2 cups more flour to be able to work with it. I don't have a stand mixer so even doing it by hand, it turned out beautiful and just like store bought. I did also add a bit of lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
But where do you get the oven-safe baking bags? [Sur le Table, for one. Do(ug)h!] I'm ambitious to try making this for Christmas--my best friend raves about panettone French toast. This sounds like panettone from a completely different universe to what I've been buying for years. You know--the ones that are in stores 6 weeks before Christmas? God knows what they must do to them to keep them "fresh" that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Superb Panettone! It's light, flakey, buttery and it melts in your mouth. I soaked the rasins/cranberries in warm Amaretto/peach schnapp for few hours. Working with the wet dough, creates a lovely crumb and only used extra flour when handling the (thick batter)dough. I've made Panettone I, which is great and lower in fat; however, this recipe produces another dimension of flavors and texture due to the addition of butter. I used evaporated milk, 1 tsp of salt; produced 2 large Panettone loaves in bundt pans. Thanks for sharing Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Wow! Amazing cake. The moment the dough was mixed together...the aroma of the entire kitchen was absolutely divine. I did, however, made some modifications to kick it up a notch *Instead of candied fruits, I used 2 cups total of golden raisins, currants, and cranberries. And I also soaked them in hot marsala wine for 30 min. AMAZING. *Used fresh yeast instead of dried yeast *added 1 1/2 tsp of sea salt *Let dough proof for 5 hours (instead of 2) at the final stage. * Cooked it in a bundt pan so that inside is more evenly cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Everyone liked it even though it was overbaked. Will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I will never buy Panettone at a bakery or store again.....this has us spoiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Absolutely to die for. I put in orange extract instead of vanilla. Like other reviewers, i added in more flour, 1/2 bread flour & 1/2 AP flour. The texture is so light & fluffy. So, so good. I made Panettone 1 the other day & found it a little dryish for my taste. Will make this over & over again,that's for sure. A 10 stars recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States