Panettone Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a great recipe! The texture was beautiful. It does need salt though. The sweetness was balanced, but I like my panettone a little sweeter; so I increased to 3/4 cup. Also be careful not to overbake. Next time I may bring it down to 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was my first time making Panettone. It turned out great & it will certainly not to be my last time making it, next time I will half the recipe. Used orange instead of vanilla and followed THOMJANICE review. I made it into two 8 in. round tins. Just wish it would stay fresh for more than two days as I am the only one at home now who eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
the end result was a delicious bread with a beautiful crumb. However I am ambivalent to rate 5 stars due to the lack of salt. Immediately saw it not on the list and salt is necessary to enhance the flavor of any food or baked good. I added 1 tsp. sea salt and it was plenty. I did have to proof it much longer (more like 5 hrs) but was not surprised due to the fruit add-ins. yeast doughs always take longer to rise when they are there. Also had to add about 2 cups more flour to be able to work with it. I don't have a stand mixer so even doing it by hand, it turned out beautiful and just like store bought. I did also add a bit of lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
But where do you get the oven-safe baking bags? [Sur le Table, for one. Do(ug)h!] I'm ambitious to try making this for Christmas--my best friend raves about panettone French toast. This sounds like panettone from a completely different universe to what I've been buying for years. You know--the ones that are in stores 6 weeks before Christmas? God knows what they must do to them to keep them "fresh" that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Superb Panettone! It's light, flakey, buttery and it melts in your mouth. I soaked the rasins/cranberries in warm Amaretto/peach schnapp for few hours. Working with the wet dough, creates a lovely crumb and only used extra flour when handling the (thick batter)dough. I've made Panettone I, which is great and lower in fat; however, this recipe produces another dimension of flavors and texture due to the addition of butter. I used evaporated milk, 1 tsp of salt; produced 2 large Panettone loaves in bundt pans. Thanks for sharing Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Wow! Amazing cake. The moment the dough was mixed together...the aroma of the entire kitchen was absolutely divine. I did, however, made some modifications to kick it up a notch *Instead of candied fruits, I used 2 cups total of golden raisins, currants, and cranberries. And I also soaked them in hot marsala wine for 30 min. AMAZING. *Used fresh yeast instead of dried yeast *added 1 1/2 tsp of sea salt *Let dough proof for 5 hours (instead of 2) at the final stage. * Cooked it in a bundt pan so that inside is more evenly cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Everyone liked it even though it was overbaked. Will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I will never buy Panettone at a bakery or store again.....this has us spoiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Absolutely to die for. I put in orange extract instead of vanilla. Like other reviewers, i added in more flour, 1/2 bread flour & 1/2 AP flour. The texture is so light & fluffy. So, so good. I made Panettone 1 the other day & found it a little dryish for my taste. Will make this over & over again,that's for sure. A 10 stars recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
The recipe is great and it was delicious! I added a little bit more flour because the dough was not right. I used King Arthur Bread Flour. My variation: I used 1 cup of candied fruit including raisings, 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States