Panettone II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I added 1 tablespoon of honey, 1/4 c sliced almonds and 1/4 c of craisins . It results on a delicious bread. We enjoyed toasted and also made grilled cheese samdwich with Havarti Cheese. Splendid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My loaf turned out too dry, and too dense for panettone. It looked beautiful, but lacked the flavor of a real Italian panettone. The smallest setting on my bread machine is for a 2 lb. loaf. The crust came out with a very pleasant color, but the bread did not have the desired texture. I'm new with a bread machine, and I welcome any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was a good loaf. Did not taste like panettone. Rose so high it hit the top of the bread machine. Next time I will use less yeast only 1 1/2tsp and add more vanilla extract and will add some almond extract and more dried fruit. Could use more sugar as well. Upddate: made this bread again today. This time reduced yeast to 1 1/2 tsp, upped the sugar to 1/4 cup, reduced the salt to 1 tsp. Added 2 tsp vanilla and almond extract. Added 1 cup mixed fruit(golden raisins and mixed dried peel). These changes now make it a 5 star authentic Italian panettone. Spoken by a 100% Italian person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great recipe however it needs more sugar and more but much more raisins, dried and candied fruits. The bread texture is the same from the manufactures. I also want to try with chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I don't have a bread machine, so I used these ingredients in my stand mixer using a standard bread method, and it turned out great! I did add 2 eggs for richness. I used chopped dried papaya, mango, and pineapple from the health food store, and a few raisins. I will use double the fruit next time. Makes 1 standard loaf, and rises way up over the pan. We used the leftover for french toast on Christmas morning. This will be our new traditional Christmas breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Easy to toss ingredients in the bread machine and go about other baking. Lovely product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I consider myself pretty good in the kitchen, and this recipe does not taste anything like the real italian panettone. It's not as sweet and doesn't have as much dried fruit/raisons. If you notice in the other reviews, people have had to tweak this recipe quite a bit to get it to taste better. I suppose the recipe has potential if you want to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this bread with dried figs, apricot and banana. I added a peel of orange zest. It turned out perfect!!!! The only thing I would do next time is, I am gonna select medium crust. I made it light and it is too light for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very good and easy. Used golden raisins and dried cranberries as that's what I had on hand.I used the leftovers for french toast and that was excellent as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was in a rush making this and added the egg yolks to the dough machine anad saved the whites for the top crust. I also didnt add in the fruit. Turned out fantastic as my new every day bread. My friends and family ove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hales Corners, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States