Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy to make and work with...I made two one right after the other and in no time at all. I put chocolate chips in the 2nd one and orange and lemon zest...oh, and I also put in 151 proof rum...will be making these and changes them around to suit my guests tastes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe to exactly and wasn't impressed. Very dense and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chktrk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made it 3 time love it ,also I change a it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Good with butter and jam, but just slightly on the dry side without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The bread rose nicely and had a nice texture, but this certainly isn't going to become a favorite holiday treat in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
nice recipe, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Living in the far east, I grew up with sweets having a more eastern pallate (less sweet), so I thought this recipe would be well suited for me reading other reviews about it not being very sweet. In the end, the panettone could definitely use more sugar. Also, the bread came out much more dense that I expected also. I was expecting something a little more light and fluffy. I even let it rise and extra 10 minutes right before backing. There's nothing like a rich airy panettone. The bread also needs more flavor. In my recipe I added 1/4 cup candied orange peels. If I did this recipe again, I would definitely add more sugar and add more substance for flavor (ie, orange zest, grand marnier, rum), possibily more than just one element would be added. The bread also is in real need of some butter. The yogurt just won't substitute the flavor. I appreciate the healthier aspect of it, but if you are going to eat something like this, you need to have flavor so it really needs butter. I will try other recipes before coming back to this one. This one isn't horrible, but it might need some personal adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great!! I used orange zest instead of lemon, since that's all I had on hand. I also used a 8 inch square pan and milk instead of the water. Turned out sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I should have read the ingredients carefully BEFORE I made this. Why is there yogurt in this but NO butter???? This Panettone has NO TASTE WHATSOEVER. My mom used to make Panettone and we'd buy it in Italy (the days before it was imported to USA). Panettone is an egg/butter bread. Supposed to have a rich butter taste. Only giving one star for ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SerpentinaSolis
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
So darn good. The secret to a good panettone: time and patience! I used gold sultana raisins, black sultana raisins and candied orange peel. I didn't have a fruit to zest so I used a dash of store bought lemon juice. Its a pleasure to eat! You can taste each little thing in it, from the slight hint of yogurt to the vanilla. My husband doesn't like fruit breads but he enjoyed this one! I plan on making a Christmas Winter Pudding Bombe with this! (Its a Jamie Oliver recipe and worth searching for!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerpentinaSolis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States