Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
okay but was missing something. I think I may try it again using candied orange peels and more raisins. I did love the lemon zest and I bet it would be good with orange zest too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Tasty - I agree that it could be sweeter. I forgot to add the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe. I read the reviews before baking so I doubled the sugar to 1/2 c. and it was perfect. Also, when I got mine out of the oven i brushed some remaining butter that was mixed with a little honey over the top. Soaked in and it gave a beautiful, shiny crust. Thanks for the great recipe, this will become a tradition at my house....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great low sodium recipe! I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and the fruits to a total of 3/4 cup. I then soaked the raisins and currents in triple sec (about 1 tbsp) and microwaved it briefly to speed up the absorption. I recommend letting it rest for a few hours prior to use. Delicious low fat & low sodium gift for those who can't enjoy the usual holiday excess. Oh yes, I also ended up using quite a bit more flour (5-6 cups) to get a workable dough. But it's important to keep the dough slightly sticky so that the bread doesn't come out too dry. BTW, this stuff makes super French toast when dipped in the usual egg/milk mixture with a touch of vanilla. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
First attempt at preparing a yeast bread,found it simple and easy to make the panettone with suggestions from others. Panettoni had delicate flavor and excellent texture. Will make again and frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was fun to make. I don't have a lot of experience with baking yeast breads. I was trying to replicate this fabulous tropical fruit panettone I bought last year, as it was very expensive. I replaced the currants and raisins with diced dried mango. Unfortunately, it did not come close to what I bought. It's a nice bread, but it does not have the heavenly tender texture that panettone should have. Oddly enough, I agree that it needs more sugar. I'm usually one who reduces the amount of sugar in a recipe. Also, I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon and orange zest and I could barely taste it. I'm sure that it will make a tasty peanut butter and jelly sandwich. But it was not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Me and my aunt tried this, and it came out FABULOUS!!! The entire family devoured it, and it was very easy to make, and to eat as well. However, next time I might add a little more sugar then called for, and I might add a little tip of honey, so as my uncle suggested. Overall, I think it is now a favorite in my family, and will be made very often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very good start for my first attempt. 15 mins after taken out of the oven, half of the bread is gone! It's a pleasure to eat it on it's own while it's still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Really good and the recipe is very easy! I made at least 10 of these during the holiday season. I like it with more fruit so I've also used dried cranberries and golden and regular raisins. I have also added orange zest in addition to the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This bread turned out beautifully. Ialso added some dried cherries and it was delicious. I would watch the time, mine was done early. Will definitely make again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States