Panettone Bread Pudding with Spiced Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is so wonderful. Panettone certainly is the perfect bread for bread pudding. I also use it Christmas morning to make french toast with our leftover egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
If I could give this recipe more stars, I would! I baked this for guests, followed the directions exactly, and ended up with the most heavenly bread pudding ever. Definatly make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
The best bread pudding ever! I omitted the butter and sugar on the top but none the less, perfect. If you haven't tried panettone your missing the best sweet yeast bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this January 1 and it was sooooo good! Here are the changes that I made- 2 TBSP of sugar only- people- you dont need to use a ton of sugar! 2-1/4 cups 5% cream because I didnt have half and half, I used 1 TBSP orange extract because I didn't have Grand Marnier or other, ground cloves instead of nutmeg, no orange zest either, and no butter on top- but I did need to use and extra egg- cooked this at 350 for 1-1/2 hours without using the hot water bath method and it turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Although the flavor was good, and the bread was delicious, this bread pudding was a little too sweet for my taste. Also, I like bread pudding to be more custardy, which requires the addition of more eggs. If I make it again, I will try it with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very good and moist! I omitted the sugar and butter on top like the other reviewer suggested. I also substituted 2% milk for half of the heavy cream. I will put less sugar in the sauce next time. It tastes great with no sauce as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
As written this is WAY too sweet... and listen, I LOVE sweets! I did like the panettone bread used in a bread pudding, and may use the bread again in one of my regular bread puddings, but definitely not with this sticky sweet syrup on top. I didn't even use all the sauce and think I may need to mix it with some milk or something to even use it on anything else... WAY TOO SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'd give it a five, but I add more spices to mine, no sugar and added coconut chunks, raisins, cranberries and topped with pecan. Sometimes don't do the sauce and top with agave for a healthier kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I didn't have any Panettone, so I used baguette, the juice as well as the zest from the orange, also added 1/4 c dried cranberries and raisins. It came out fantabulous. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this for a Christmas dinner party and boy was it a hit! I wouldn't change a thing! It is so rich you could probably serve this to a least 8 people instead of the stated recipe yield of 6 servings. This will be my go-to dessert! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mayo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States