Panettone Bread Pudding with Spiced Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was such a huge hit to New Year's Day dinner. I doubled the recipe and made it in a small roasting pan. When I took the pork roast out this went in. One thing I did was make it with the panettone with chocolate chips in it because they were out of the regular citrus bread. OH. MY. GOODNESS! The orange and chocolate was such a great combination. Based on other reviews about the sweetness with the sauce I decided to provide a bowl of fresh whipped cream if anyone wanted to top it. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My friend replaces the cream with eggnog...epic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mzrzzy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Awesome bread pudding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was the best! Even though I had to punt on some of the ingredients. I used Amaretto instead of Grand Marnier, a bit short of nutmeg, so I added some of Penzey's cake seasoning. All the rest was the same. the recipe was easy to follow. And the sauce! I had all of my ingredients ready on the counter, and when we were finished with our meal, I put the sauce together, right in front of the guests. Again I substituted Amaretto and the cake spice for the required ingredients. Yummy! I will definitely be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
As written this is WAY too sweet... and listen, I LOVE sweets! I did like the panettone bread used in a bread pudding, and may use the bread again in one of my regular bread puddings, but definitely not with this sticky sweet syrup on top. I didn't even use all the sauce and think I may need to mix it with some milk or something to even use it on anything else... WAY TOO SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We had this as a New Years Brunch. It's extremely good, and extremely rich. I didn't have Grand Marnier, and so used Amaretto for the pudding, and Rum for the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this for New Year's Brunch and it was delish. Everyone loved it. I put a few coins in for good luck (told everyone of course). Doesn't really need the sauce but it is a yummy touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'd give it a five, but I add more spices to mine, no sugar and added coconut chunks, raisins, cranberries and topped with pecan. Sometimes don't do the sauce and top with agave for a healthier kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I didn't have any Panettone, so I used baguette, the juice as well as the zest from the orange, also added 1/4 c dried cranberries and raisins. It came out fantabulous. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this January 1 and it was sooooo good! Here are the changes that I made- 2 TBSP of sugar only- people- you dont need to use a ton of sugar! 2-1/4 cups 5% cream because I didnt have half and half, I used 1 TBSP orange extract because I didn't have Grand Marnier or other, ground cloves instead of nutmeg, no orange zest either, and no butter on top- but I did need to use and extra egg- cooked this at 350 for 1-1/2 hours without using the hot water bath method and it turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States