Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
The taste was fine, but the texture was off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very easy, didn't use the food processor or knead, just squeezed into cheesecloth and let set on sink! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used this paneer for another recipe, and while that dish was a bust, it had nothing to do with this one. This was delicious. My ancient food processor wasn't able to combine up the cheese properly, so in the end I wound up dumping the contents into a gallon size zip top bag and just kneading and pummeling until it came together. My only recommendation is to add some salt at this stage - without it, the cheese is a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe worked, the paneer separated nicely, and I was left with gorgeous green whey, which is what I was really after. I did fry them, I followed all of the original recipe writer's directions in the comments. I ended up with gorgeous, squeaky little paneers. I don't actually like paneer, but if I did, I would like this. I might personally rather skip the frying and put it in calzones or lasagna like ricotta. I really like that the whey comes out pure with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This did not work out well at all. The cheese did not maintain its shape when I went to fry it, and I was left with a big, oily cheese pile. I've fried paneer before, and it was nothing like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This cheese was tasty when fried, but I would add a little salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a simple and yummy recipe. It turned out perfectly! It was surprisingly easy, and gave me exactly what I was looking for. I may not fry it next time. I served it with saag, chicken and cauliflower over rice. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is the first time I have tried to make paneer at home, and I was excited that the recipe was so easy. I was a little disappointed at how little cheese I ended up with, though. I saved a cup or so of the liquid, so I tried re-heating it and added a couple of drops of lemon juice and it curdled again! Next time I will make sure I continue to heat the mixture for a while longer after adding the buttermilk, and maybe add a couple little bit of lemon juice to make sure I get as much as possible out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
No one has mentioned saving the whey! I like to drink a small amount chilled. (I know, most people think it's gross.) It also makes a fantastic flavorful, healthy base for soups and stews. Recipe needs a bit of salt in my opinion. I have also added anise seeds and chopped fresh basil for a change. Great crumbled on a salad or veggies like feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tasted good. But it fell apart when I tried to add it to a sauce. Not sure where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States