Paneer (Home Made) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Okay, here's how it worked for me. I made the recipe as it is written using whole milk and got some curds (about 3/4 cup) with remaining liquid that looked like 2% milk, not whey. It seemed like I could get more out of it, so I cooled the mixture down to room temperature, then heated it to boiling again and added a tablespoon of white vinegar as suggested by another reviewer. It curdled beautifully leaving a clear whey and more solids than the first attempt. My advice is to go straight for the vinegar as the acidity of lemons may vary from one to the next. The paneer tastes excellent with a nice firmness that held its shape when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Paneer is quite easy to make. Definitely requires whole milk. One thing this recipe doesn't mention is that the milk has to curdle. This occurs once you put in the lemon juice. I have seen it not curdle, perhaps due to less acidic lemons. Lemon can be substituted with white vinegar, especially if your lemons won't cause it to curdle. Toss some fresh cracked peppercorns into the curdled milk in the cheese cloth and stir before hanging for peppercorn paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Being an indian, we use regular milk in making paneer. I am assuming that Dostanden ment to put that in the recipe. Usually the higher the fat content in milk, the better and more paneer you will get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
the taste was fantastic, but i did not know how much the recipe was supposed to make - i used fat free milk and did not get much out of it (8 servings = apx 6oz of cheese) but i suspect if i use full fat milk, it is going to get a lot more cheese...but the taste is WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe, and so easy to make. Those of you who couldn't get your milk to curdle, it's possible that you didn't get your milk hot enough. I only got a tiny bit of cheese the first time through, then I put the milk back in the pan and reheated it. I didn't add anything extra, I just stirred until I saw the first bubble of a boil. I poured it through the sieve again, and it worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Finally! A paneer recipe that worked! I made this yesterday and am using it tonight in Rosy's Palak Paneer. I did read the posts about full-fat milk working better. Since all I had was 2 percent, I substituted a half pint light cream for 1 cup of the milk. Also, the yogurt I used was Stoneyfield Organic full fat with cream on top. So I added a little of the cream from on top of the yogurt ;-) This did require more than one Tb of lemon juice in order to curdle, but it all comes down to how acidic the lemon is, I guess. The cheese is DELICIOUS (been nibbling at the curds that stuck to the cheesecloth... LOL) and firm enough to cook. Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I have no idea what I am doing wrong, but I tried this recipe twice and I didn't get any cheese. It wouldn't curdle at all. I used whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Crumbly the first time - allow curdling to take place while heating on medium - might have to add extra lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great recipe. I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. I doubled it and got over 300g (about 3/4 of a lb) of cheese from 2L of whole milk. I pressed my paneer under a heavy pan and some cookbooks. I experimented with the paneer when cooking it. I'd seen other recipes that said to fry it before adding it to curries, so I fried half before adding it to my curry and added the other half as is. The frying definitely gave it a chewier texture and helped it keep it's shape better. The cheese was equally tasty both ways. I've also read that the whey can be used in soups and also for making bread, roti or chapatti. Will definitely be making this again. Where I live, paneer isn't available, so I'm very happy to have found this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I couldn't get it to work. Tasted great (made a great paneer paste!). Hard to get out of the cheescloth. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States