Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
We really liked this recipe! We love more spice, so we added some creole seasoning to it. Like someone else mentioned we used PAM olive oil instead of regular olive oil just to cut calories. We will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Used ingredients on hand, so instead of chopped tomatoes, I used salsa. Instead of lime, I used a lemon. I put the lemon slices underneath. I also had this jar of Mexican spices someone gave me as a souvenir from their vacation, so I sprinkled that on the fillet to season it. (The recipe didn't mention anything about seasoning the fish, but I find that just a bit of salt and pepper before cooking any fish or meat makes such a big difference; a lot of advanced cooks take it for granted that you would do this). Then I also added a few drops of tequila down the length of the fillet, before covering it in salsa. It turned out so well. I can't wait until I have the actual ingredients on hand, especially the cilantro. This type of fish is so mild, that if you don't season it a little bit, you might very well find it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I like to make a fish dish like this one, But I like to use fresh tomatoes, onion, Jalapenos and green peppers, cilantro. I saute all the ingredients in olive oil; then I lay the fish on top add salt pepper and spicy smoked paprika. I add a little water and a fish bouillon cube cover and let simmer for ten minutes enjoy over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was very good. I left out the oil and cilantro. I also diced the fish before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Yummy! Used Rotel tomatoes with chilies in it. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Delicious and easy! I substituted diced tomatoes with jalapenos for those called for to give it a little extra heat because my husband loves spicy. I also used Pam instead of the olive oil to save on calories and used 1 T dried cilantro. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I fixed this for the family and used salt, pepper, lime slices and oregano to season the fish before I popped them on the grill. I also took the advice of 1 reviewer and used fresh tomatoes and canned jalapenos. Boy! This was a Perfect summer time dish. MMMM Toasted up corn tortillas and passed around the chopped cilantro and green onions. Delish! I would like to try this with salmon next time. Thanks Surfwench. Keeper!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Pretty good, I have cooked it a few times now and experimented with someother things and all seem to be good especially over some spanish rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I was snowed in the day I tried this, so I had to make do without cilantro or foil; I simply sprayed the bottom of a 9x9" baking dish; lightly added salt, pepper & very little garlic powder to the fish; spooned on the Rotel (I use the mild version that has cilantro & lime) and topped with lime slices. Baked with no cover, it was still tremendously tender and ridiculously yummy! The tomato & lime juices in the bottom of the pan end up basically poaching the fish, and the taste is awesome. Although I love fresh tomatoes and will probably try that version, this was an amazingly simple and delicious (and healthy, bonus!) way to get dinner ready in a big fat hurry. WIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made this dish several times and every time it turns out awesome! I usually sprinkle salt and pepper on each side of the filets and use dried cilantro because I always forget to buy fresh cilantro. I also sprinkle the top with crushed red pepper flakes. I serve it with Spanish rice and steamed veggies. Great filling dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States