Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I just wanted to comment on the other reviews...If you use all-purpose flour, instead of self rising, they WILL be flat and tasteless. Follow the directions. If you don't have self rising flour, add baking powder. Look online for conversions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe has a good base, but even a flat cake need levening of sorts. after trying one as is(plus cinnamon), I added 1/2 tablespoon baking powder and 1/2 tablespoon sugar to the mix. The rest of the batch was much better. Next time I'll skip the oil, add honey for sweetness, and add the baking powder to the dry ingredients mixed beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Colorado, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Grabbed this recipe and 30 mins later we sat down to a giant stack of pancakes. I made two batches separately and the only thing I added was 2 tsp of vanilla extract. I was consistent with every measurement except the flour which I eyeballed for consistency. I put in enough to make the batter quite thick (even a little lumpy) and whipped it with a fork. In the pan (teflon with butter) the batter stayed together very well and did not easily run away. Only the edges had air bubbles by the time I flipped them, then I watched them rise before my eyes. I used less oil in the first batch and I thought that the first ones weren't as fluffy. My flatmates claimed they had never eaten fluffier pancakes, and I thought they were pretty darn good too, although I may tinker with some seasoning. N.B. make sure you're using self-raising flour, plain/all-purpose will leave you with flat, rubbery crepes. Do a tester first to see if the batter works, if not you still have time to tinker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I noticed this recipe was rated either very good or very bad, so I had to try it. It seemed a little thin, so I added a little extra flour (maybe less than 1/4 cup)and 2 tsp. vanilla. I don't see any reason to add sugar if you plan to eat them smothered in syrup! Those who rated it badly, may have used all purpose flour. Pancake batter, like brownies, should be left slightly lumpy. I poured them onto a non-stick griddle which I greased lightly with a paper towel dipped in vegetable oil. Turn after the edges look dry and the bubbles on top begin to pop. They will rise beautifully after you turn them. And they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
These pancakes were the best.They tasted like real ones and and they hardly used any ingreadients.Try these at home you ll love them (easy for children to cook aswell)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
How this recipe currently has 4.5 stars, and I don't know how. I never knew pancakes could be this flat, greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORYTIMEMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I'm not quite sure why I tried this recipe so many times--I think I was worried I was screwing it up! I tried several variations of flours, baking spices, honey, oil, even chocolate chips. All yielded variaties of flat, rubbery pancake. I appreciate that it requires few ingredients, but that doesn't compensate for the lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Dauin, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Absolutely horrible! Total waste of ingredients and time! Wish I could give it 0 stars. They were as thin as paper and had a nasty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
These are so awesome and so easy and so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
They may be quick. easy and cheap but then again sometimes you get what you pay for. I don't think you can even call these things pancakes. They are flat (not the fluffy melt in your mouth pancakes) and my kids who will eat ANYTHING hated them. My advice is travel to another page and try a different recipe such as the canadian kind or blow the $2.50 and get some pancake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States