Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe this morning. Added about 2 tsp. of sugar and 1 tablespoon of lemon extract. Also, added an extra 1/4 cup of self-rising flour..(I like my pancakes a little thicker). Topped the pancakes with blueberries while batter was in pan. The pancakes came out perfect! In regards to others comments on here about flat...rubbery pancakes. Make sure your flour isn't old if using self-rising flour. Leavening agents can lose potency. If you are using all-purpose flour you need to add baking powder otherwise your pancakes will be flat everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Perfectly plump and yummy! I doubled the batch (I'm a family of 6) and only used 2 tbsp of veg.oil. This is now my go to pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Followed recipe but added dash of cinnamon, 2 tablespoons of sugar,then dash of vanilla extract to batter. They turned out thin reminded me of Swedish pancakes. We loved them they were sweet next time will add strawberries Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My family was wanting pancakes for supper so I make these. I followed as the recipe shows, then added a tsp of baking powder and some vanilla powder for some flavor. The batter was incredibly thick and impossible to ladle out to put on the griddle so I added more milk to thin it out. These pancakes did not change color at all while cooking, they were a bland white color. We bit into them, and they weren't cooked all the way through so I threw them back on the griddle and they wouldn't cook anymore. They're very doughy and rubbery. Not a good pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This recipe is great ! Always a hassle to get thin pancakes. Self raising is definitely the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
All the times I've made them they have been good. If they turn out rubbery, your only suppose to flip once, if they turn out greasy, add less butter or whatever you use to make it not stick. And I have even made it without the oil and it turned out well. So try it with or without the oil. At the same time you need to add a little more flour to make them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Velis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I was able to make them faster than my 20 month old could start wanting " bities"!!! This will defiantly always be my go to recipe. FYI followed the recipe to the line had griddle on 375
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. First time I tried it though they were flat and greasy even though I used self-rising flour. So, I tried 1 tsp. baking soda in mix along with cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Yum. Now I make a double batch and freeze them by threes. Defrost the night before, spread them out on a plate then microwave them 30 seconds or less on each side for a quick treat for the kids. PS I only use 1/2 of the oil recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babsmith726
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Perfect easy pancakes. We added cinnamon and banana slices! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This worked great. I didn't have anything but selfrising flour and found this. My tester pancake turned out a bit thin BUT to remedy it, I just added another about 1/4 - 1/2 of flour to thicken it up and it got to be very fluffy and delicious. The seemed a bit bland to me, because I'm used to having a sweet cake like pancake (so I added a dash of salt and sugar). But this is a great base for pancakes. You can add anything to it and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States