Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
At the suggestion of the old dude at the local Asian market, I first heated up the oil and added a 4 oz can of panang curry paste with 2 decent-sized crushed garlic cloves, then added sliced chicken and cooked very slowly on low heat until nearly done. I then added 1 TBS of fish sauch, torn/bruised lime leaves (and removed when serving), 1 TBS of palm sugar, and 2 cans of coconut milk and simmered until the sauce thickened slightly, about 10-15 mins. Turned out wonderful and fragrant, and the smell alone had my neighbors asking what I was making, drooling over my front door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I had to substitute a lot of ingredients (brown sugar for the palm sugar; grated lime zest, dash of lime juice, and a bay leaf for the kaffir lime leaves; "regular" basil for the Thai basil leaves), but this dish was still amazingly good. The sauce was so good I kept the leftovers and I plan to make a batch of rice tomorrow just so that the sauce does not go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe is very authentic! All the ingredients contribute to its unique taste. Don't skimp...go to your local Asian market and get the ingredients. Also very very easy to make. Reminded me of my favourite Thai restaurant I always ate at in Hawaii! Will be making this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We didn't have the kaffir lime leaves, so zexted a lime. We also didn't have the palm sugar, so I used agave nectar. And I used regular basil leaves instead of Thai basil. It was as good as I've had in any restaurant. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is awesome! Just like the restaurants! I added a bunch of slightly grilled bell peppers to the curry and it was a full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this recipe is PERFECT. we didn't put in the fish sauce, yet it still tasted exactly like the one at my favorite thai restaurant! However, we added some bell peppers for a little extra crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I too had to figure out a way to make my favorite Thai dish - and tweaked it a bit by substituting a couple (hard to find) ingredients and adding a couple that make it simply killer (peanut butter). And just as an fyi... using lime juice instead of lime leaves does not work as a substitution. A kaffir lime leaf tastes and is used more like our bay leaf, not a lime. Just to simplify, here is my ingredient list: Panang Curry paste / Lite coconut milk / Crunchy Peanut butter / (to make a substitute for Kaffir lime leaves, use 1/3 of each: lime zest, fresh thyme and a bay leaf. Use lemon thyme if available.) / Brown Sugar / Hoisin Sauce / Fresh basil chiffonade / Red Pepper / Green Pepper / chicken breast / Lime juice / Jasmine rice. The crunchy peanut butter adds another Thai dimension that just "makes" this dish, IMO. (not sure if it changes the name of the dish.. but who cares!?!) The kaffir lime leaf substitution took some research and is a wonderful replacement trick. This dish is ridiculously easy to make, and so impressive! Not to mention sooooo good. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was easy and delicious. I was able to purchase all ingredients from a local Asian Market. The only variation I did off of the recipe was to cook the chicken in the curry paste and oil and two cloves of garlic prior to adding the coconut milk. I also added potatoes and carrots. Tasted as good or better than take out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Combs
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This recipe was pretty good over all, but it needed ALOT more heat. I like my Thai food super spicy and this dish was REALLY sweet. I'd probably make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States