Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
One of the best curry recipes I have tried. Used red curry paste, sesame oil. Added pulled chicken leftover from a roaster and lots of veggies, heated through. The flavor was great initially and got even better the second day. With rice was plenty for 4-5 people as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wonderful! Followed the recipe completely except didn't use the basil or chili peppers for garnish. Tasted just like my favorite Thai restaurant. So cheap, quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was fabulous. I am not the best of cooks, and this recipe was so good, I felt like a professional chef. We would make the following changes. 4 cups of coconut milk was too much, so next time, we would add more chicken and reduce the coconut milk to 3 cups. Go to a Thai market and buy the real ingredients, it is cheaper than the standard market and bette. Wonderful, wonderful food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
off the hook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have been searching high and low over the Internet trying to find the perfect panang curry like the one at our favorite Thai restaurant. I'm so glad I came across this recipe it was even better than the one we usually eat with a couple of modifications to suit our taste, I only used one large can of coconut milk, heated only 2 tbsp Mae ploy curry paste (cause were sensitive to heat unfortunately) with garlic, brown sugar instead of palm cause that's all we had, and added a tablespoon of peanutbutter, used beef instead of chicken and followed the rest of the recipe by the letter, it came out fantastic, my husband kept raving about it (whom btw is a tough critic ugh!) I also decided to make shrimp pad thai from a recipe I found on YouTube, why not get the whole thai experience I thought lol. Thanks for posting this recipe I will be forever greatful!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely fantastic as is, and even better if you add about a tablespoon or so of peanut butter when you add the coconut milk. I followed another user's suggestion and used a can of coconut milk and a can of coconut cream -- even better! This is a very versatile recipe -- it's easy to adjust and hard to screw up. I've added veggies, played with the amount of curry paste, tried it with basil and without, etc., and it's been wonderful every time. I use brown sugar instead of palm sugar, but I did seek out the lime leaves -- you can buy them frozen at Asian markets, and they're remarkably inexpensive. The flavor is hard to reproduce, so it's worth the effort to get the real thing if you can. If not, I imagine the bay leaf + lime juice substitute suggested by other users would come fairly close. This recipe is just as good as my favorite Thai restaurant's, and much, much less expensive than going out. Best recipe I've ever found on this site, and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
We love this dish! We added a bunch of veggies-bamboo, baby corn, red bell pepper, spinach and broccoli. I cooked the chicken in chili oil and coconut oil with minced garlic and onion then added 4oz. Of panang sauce. Served over Jasmine rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Like most reviewers, I had to tweak the recipe because I did not have all the ingredients on hand. Also, applied notes from multiple reviewers. To start HALVED the recipe and used 2 whole chicken legs with skin. In a wok, browned the salted chicken for a couple minutes with 2 tsp /vegetable oil. Removed from wok, sautéed 2 1/2 tbsp panang curry (used Mae Ploy brand) with 1 minced garlic. Added 1 can of coconut milk, 1 tbsp palm sugar, 1 tbsp fish sauce, 3 dried thai chiles (instead of fresh chili, we also like it spicy), zest of lime (1/2) and 1 bay leave. Increased heat, once sauce started boiling added chicken and vegetables (1 sliced red pepper, 1 sliced yellow onion and 1 sliced carrot). Sauteed a couple minutes, then added chicken broth (enough to cover the chicken) and reduced heat to medium (gentle bubble). Personally, prefer to cook uncovered for a good 30 - 40 minutes, at a gentle bubble to rid the taste of coconut milk and fish sauce. Constantly, stirred chicken and scooped sauce and poured over chicken, to ensure it cooked through. Sauce thickened, became this beautiful, silky and spicy sauce. Squeezed the juice of lime (zest, juice substituted for kaffir leaves) and mixed in at the end, prior to serving. Unfortunately, we didn't have thai basil on hand, so it was omitted altogether. The dish was wonderful with a nice spice kick. Served with plain basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I hate to be one of those that adds salt to a dish before trying it...however I was searching for a recipe to mimic one of my all time favorite dishes from a local thai restaurant. To create our dish we have ordered a hundred times (probably not an exaggeration when you include take out over 5 years), we added cubed sweet potatoes, doubled the chicken, added whole green beans and some green onions. It was wonderful! So close, maybe a little less sweet than the thai place but that may be a good thing. Wonderful recipe! Definitely in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Just like restaurants and super quick and easy. Will save ourselves big $ by not eating out as much. Couldn't find ,, kaffir leaves or fish sauce at grocery, so did w/o and,was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States