Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Awesome recipe. I tweaked it to match how some of the ingredients were packaged. I used two 14 oz. cans of coconut milk and a 4 oz. can of panang curry paste. I also added one chopped red bell pepper and one chopped green bell pepper to add some color and veggie flair, as well as a handful of cashews. Peppers were added same time as the chicken, cashews were added when I mixed in the fish sauce and palm sugar. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I tried this recipe tonight for the first time. Our Asian market did not have the lime leaves so I used a squeeze of fresh lime instead and added some red pepper in when the chicken was half way done. I love the sweet crunch with the spicy sauce. I thought it was pretty good. Mine seemed to seperate and I had an oily orange coat on top which I ended up absorbing using a papertowel. Not sure why that happened. I also thought it was a little thin so think I will use another reviewers suggestion and do have coconut milk and half coconut cream next time. But overall, it was very good and fun to cook with new ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe was excellent! As someone once described it, "it's like a bouquet of flowers exploding in your mouth!" I personally recommend using actual lime leaves (instead of zest) if you want to get the true Panang flavor. The 5 tbsp of curry paste IS spicy, so scale down if you want mild or even medium heat. Also, I serve it with coconut rice, it adds even more to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Thank you thank you THANK YOU for this outstanding recipe,,, i am thrilled to say this tastes alot like the meal i love in the asian resteraunts and was SO EASY to replicate!!!!! i didn't even have all of the exact ingredients and STILL it was exceptional. i made it for my brother who is a world traveler, been to Thialand etc, and he said it was spot on! this is a keeper. Next time i will have all of the ingredients and i think it should be 10 stars! i used soy sauce instead of fish sauce per one reviewer and it was fine... next time i'll use the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This one was a big hit with my friends! I expected to have a ton of leftovers and was bummed out when there were none. I added green peppers and couldn't find the kaffir lime leaves so I zested a lime. I also couldn't find a thai chili pepper so I serrano chilis instead. I'll probably add more veggies to it next time I make it but this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Finally a restaurant quality Thai curry recipe. I have made this a lot and it always turns out great. The first time I made it I used the 5 tbsp of panang and was sweating from the heat. Since then, I use 3 tbsp of the panang curry paste made by Mae Ploy. I generally fry some tofu with vegetables and throw it in instead of chicken. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was easy and delicious. I was able to purchase all ingredients from a local Asian Market. The only variation I did off of the recipe was to cook the chicken in the curry paste and oil and two cloves of garlic prior to adding the coconut milk. I also added potatoes and carrots. Tasted as good or better than take out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Such a great recipe! It is definitely restaurant quality! We like to use lite coconut milk, which cuts back on fat, and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
My husband LOVES thai panang curry and is pretty picky about it, and he *raved* about this recipe! I doubled the recipe and added half coconut cream and half coconut milk, it's much richer that way:) I also added garlic with the curry as a previous commenter had suggested. We will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
So delicious! I found the ingredients at the local asian market and added onions, carrots, and mushrooms to the mixutre. Served over brown rice it was remarkably similar to my dish of choice at my favorite thai restaurant. :) my dad gives it "two thumbs up!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States