Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Taste just like the Panang Curry at my favorite Thai Restaurant! I added cayenne pepper to make it spicy, some cornstarch to make it thicker, and substituted brown sugar for palm sugar and bay leaves for Kaffir lime leaves. Super easy to make and very tasty!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was very good, but unfortunately I can't rate the recipe as it was written. I went to an Asian market and still couldn't find the Kaffir lime leaves. I've read on the internet that they can no longer be imported and the grocer I went to didn't have any frozen. I used the zest from one whole lime and added a bay leaf to substitute. I thought it was very delicious! Maybe a little too spicy for my kids, but I thought the spice was just right. Had a good kick but not hard to eat from being too spicy. Of course that probably varies depending on the brand of curry paste you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was very good, however the curry paste I could find was a bit too spicy for two of my kids. Frankly, it was a bit too much for me, too. If I can find a milder curry paste, we will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was great! I used lime zest and juice instead of kaffir leaves and brown sugar for palm sugar. I was afraid it wasn't going to taste like at the restaurant but once the fish sauce went it it was just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Wow, what a really simple and tasty recipe.Had some leftover coconut milk and chicken in the fridge and thought i'd give this a try Used brown sugar and a squeeze of lime juice as i didn't have palm sugar or lime leaves and plain old basil for the garnish. Will make this recipe again and not just with leftovers. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
pretty good, needs more chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Concur with everyone, with this base recipe what I made is as good (and better than some) as what you can get in Thai restaurants. My tweaks: I get Coconut Cream instead of milk. I like the creaminess it adds to the sauce. I use one box total (looks to be the amount of about 2 cans). I didn't purchase thai basil, kaffir leaves, or red chiles. I just added a squirt of lime juice. Oh, and I add 2 TB of CREAMY PEANUT BUTTER. Panang is a creamy coconut peanut curry, so I don't think this would taste right to me without any peanut. I eased back on the sugar (I just added a little bit of natural coconut sugar I happened to have) since the PB is sweetened. I like to add veggies to the dish as well- 1 red bell pepper, a cup of frozen peas, 1/2 cup frozen green beans, and some steamed broccoli. The bell pepper I added right after adding the chicken. The rest of the frozen veggies I added when the sauce was just about done because they don't need much time to cook. The broccoli was steamed on its own and stirred in at the end. The dish came out pretty darn spicy. I bet this depends on the brand of paste you get. I might not use the whole can next time. The problem for me is if its super spicy, I want to eat a lot of rice with it (extra calories). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fabulous! I'm stuffed and I still want to keep eating, it's that good. I added some thinly sliced carrots and some potato cubes (pre-boiled) near the end and served over white rice. As for ingredients, my local grocery store didn't carry many of them, but Wegman's does. I'm sure an Asian market would as well. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This delicious and taste similar to the curry at our favorite restaurant. Took suggestions of other reviewers and added garlic to the oil. I used one can coconut milk, 1 can coconut cream. Used brown sugar instead of palm; added many veggies - red peppers, yellow peppers and ton of zucchini. Used brown rice. Did not use the red chile peppers or Thai Basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Dead on chicken panang! Identical to restaurant versions. LOVE this recipe. Used splenda instead of sugar; couldn't find lime leaves, but between the curry paste and fish sauce that pretty much covered it. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States