Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
We love this dish! We added a bunch of veggies-bamboo, baby corn, red bell pepper, spinach and broccoli. I cooked the chicken in chili oil and coconut oil with minced garlic and onion then added 4oz. Of panang sauce. Served over Jasmine rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Like most reviewers, I had to tweak the recipe because I did not have all the ingredients on hand. Also, applied notes from multiple reviewers. To start HALVED the recipe and used 2 whole chicken legs with skin. In a wok, browned the salted chicken for a couple minutes with 2 tsp /vegetable oil. Removed from wok, sautéed 2 1/2 tbsp panang curry (used Mae Ploy brand) with 1 minced garlic. Added 1 can of coconut milk, 1 tbsp palm sugar, 1 tbsp fish sauce, 3 dried thai chiles (instead of fresh chili, we also like it spicy), zest of lime (1/2) and 1 bay leave. Increased heat, once sauce started boiling added chicken and vegetables (1 sliced red pepper, 1 sliced yellow onion and 1 sliced carrot). Sauteed a couple minutes, then added chicken broth (enough to cover the chicken) and reduced heat to medium (gentle bubble). Personally, prefer to cook uncovered for a good 30 - 40 minutes, at a gentle bubble to rid the taste of coconut milk and fish sauce. Constantly, stirred chicken and scooped sauce and poured over chicken, to ensure it cooked through. Sauce thickened, became this beautiful, silky and spicy sauce. Squeezed the juice of lime (zest, juice substituted for kaffir leaves) and mixed in at the end, prior to serving. Unfortunately, we didn't have thai basil on hand, so it was omitted altogether. The dish was wonderful with a nice spice kick. Served with plain basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I hate to be one of those that adds salt to a dish before trying it...however I was searching for a recipe to mimic one of my all time favorite dishes from a local thai restaurant. To create our dish we have ordered a hundred times (probably not an exaggeration when you include take out over 5 years), we added cubed sweet potatoes, doubled the chicken, added whole green beans and some green onions. It was wonderful! So close, maybe a little less sweet than the thai place but that may be a good thing. Wonderful recipe! Definitely in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Just like restaurants and super quick and easy. Will save ourselves big $ by not eating out as much. Couldn't find ,, kaffir leaves or fish sauce at grocery, so did w/o and,was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sherron1
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was very good!! Although, only able to give 4 stars because I had to make several substitutions due to lack of ingredients. My only suggestion would be to(season and lightly coat chicken in corn starch cook until tender, then heat paste in oil before returning chicken to pan and adding milk.} This will not only add more flavor to the chicken but will also help to thicken the sauce. Simply marvelous over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Fantastic! I used 4 Tbls of Mae Ploy Panang Curry Paste. Took the advice of others, fried the paste along with 2 cloves minced garlic, and 2 tsp canola oil for a few minutes. Threw in 1 lb cubed chicken thighs (skinless boneless) and cooked until done, around 10 min. Added 2 cans coconut milk, 1 Tbls brown sugar, 2 bay leaves, 1.5 Tbls fish sauce, and the zest of one lime. I let this simmer while jasmine rice was cooking, about 20 min or so. About 5 min before serving adding 1 red bell pepper sliced and 1 green bell pepper sliced. Served over jasmine rice and squeezed a slice of lime into each bowl. Husband and 2 teenage boys liked it a lot! Husband kept telling me it was phenomenal. Very little leftovers so next time I will double the recipe. Also, I love this curry with veggies so next time I will add broccoli, cauliflower, and baby corns :) This was perfectly spiced for the family. However if I were making this for myself only I would add more paste and maybe a sliced jalapeno. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clechang
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very easy and delicious dish! I used the whole 4 oz can of Mae Sri Panang Curry paste and fried it in oil with some crushed garlic like another user mentioned. I used 2 cans of coconut milk and added slices of red bell pepper at the same time I added the chicken. I also only needed to use 1 Tb of fish sauce. I also could not find kaffir lime leaves, so I used 4 bay leaves, lime zest, and a little squeeze from half a lime. Will have to try this again if I ever find kaffir lime leaves to see if it tastes any different. Husband loved it, which makes me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used a serrano pepper (chopped up) instead of red peppers, turbino surgar, half light half full coconut milk, no lime leaves, basil chopped, red curry paste with 1/2 tsp each of curry powder, grnd corriander and grnd cumin since I did not have panagn curry powder. It was easy and yummy. I added aspeagus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Love this recipe for Panang Curry with Chicken! Even my 11, 8, & 4 year olds love this (I hold off on adding the red chili peppers until I have served them) Such a great Thai recipe to make at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was super quick and easy to make! I used red thai curry paste because I couldn't find panang paste, and I used lime juice, lime zest and bay leaf because I couldn't find keffir leaves. Next time I will go to the asian market for those items. The recipe with the substitutions was still amazing! I added some spinach and bell peppers to make it a complete one pot meal. Served with jasmine rice. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States