Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This dish is amazing. However, the amount of chicken it calls for is too little. With 4 cups of milk, the chicken was lost in it. I doubled the chicken so therefore had to add in a little bit more of all the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I was so looking forward to this! Unfortunately, I literally had too many pots on the fire & 'over browned' the curry paste a bit before I got the coconut milk in. :( It was still good - just not as delicate tasting as I expected. Also, the band of paste I used was a tad too hot... Great with rice :) Thanks, Wiley :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a really good recipe! It is better than what I've had at some Thai restaurants and my 11yr son, who has been asking for Panang Curry, approves with a big thumbs up. I did not tweak the recipe at all. I was able to find all the ingredients and even googled the 'best panang curry paste'. The result was a curry paste from "Mae Ploy". I don't know how easy it is to find that particular paste in some areas, but where I live, we have lots of diversity so finding a Thai grocery store wasn't hard(Amazon.com also sells this and has great reviews). Finding the right paste is important. I also used the coconut milk from Mae Ploy as well. I was shocked when i opened the can because all the cream was at the top and it looked and felt like frosting. It took some stirring to mix it with the liquid on the bottom. The result was the thickest creamiest coconut milk I have ever seen. No comparison to the Orchid brand or the common supermarket brands I've bought in the past. The resulting curry was so nice and thicker than usual and absolutely delicious. I went out of my way to find the right ingredients including palm sugar. The grocery's owner said that a lot of Thai dishes use this because it's not as sweet as regular sugar but adds a subtle sweetness. Four cups of coconut milk make A LOT. Next time I would like to add some veggies, but I won't boil them in the sauce as it might add unnecessary water. Instead, I'm going to sautee them separately and add at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Added 1 can bamboo shoots, 1 can water chestnuts, snow peas, 1 can baby corn cut into small pieces, and used pork instead of chicken (sweeter meat to offset the spicy ness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
One of the best curry recipes I have tried. Used red curry paste, sesame oil. Added pulled chicken leftover from a roaster and lots of veggies, heated through. The flavor was great initially and got even better the second day. With rice was plenty for 4-5 people as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wonderful! Followed the recipe completely except didn't use the basil or chili peppers for garnish. Tasted just like my favorite Thai restaurant. So cheap, quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was fabulous. I am not the best of cooks, and this recipe was so good, I felt like a professional chef. We would make the following changes. 4 cups of coconut milk was too much, so next time, we would add more chicken and reduce the coconut milk to 3 cups. Go to a Thai market and buy the real ingredients, it is cheaper than the standard market and bette. Wonderful, wonderful food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
off the hook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have been searching high and low over the Internet trying to find the perfect panang curry like the one at our favorite Thai restaurant. I'm so glad I came across this recipe it was even better than the one we usually eat with a couple of modifications to suit our taste, I only used one large can of coconut milk, heated only 2 tbsp Mae ploy curry paste (cause were sensitive to heat unfortunately) with garlic, brown sugar instead of palm cause that's all we had, and added a tablespoon of peanutbutter, used beef instead of chicken and followed the rest of the recipe by the letter, it came out fantastic, my husband kept raving about it (whom btw is a tough critic ugh!) I also decided to make shrimp pad thai from a recipe I found on YouTube, why not get the whole thai experience I thought lol. Thanks for posting this recipe I will be forever greatful!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely fantastic as is, and even better if you add about a tablespoon or so of peanut butter when you add the coconut milk. I followed another user's suggestion and used a can of coconut milk and a can of coconut cream -- even better! This is a very versatile recipe -- it's easy to adjust and hard to screw up. I've added veggies, played with the amount of curry paste, tried it with basil and without, etc., and it's been wonderful every time. I use brown sugar instead of palm sugar, but I did seek out the lime leaves -- you can buy them frozen at Asian markets, and they're remarkably inexpensive. The flavor is hard to reproduce, so it's worth the effort to get the real thing if you can. If not, I imagine the bay leaf + lime juice substitute suggested by other users would come fairly close. This recipe is just as good as my favorite Thai restaurant's, and much, much less expensive than going out. Best recipe I've ever found on this site, and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States