Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
i recently moved from a big city to a really small rural town and couldn't find a decent chicken panang curry anywhere! this recipe tasted EXACTLY like the one i missed so much. 5 tblspoons of the panang curry paste made this wayyy too spicy for me though. i will definitely use less next time. i had to add more coconut milk to make it less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We didn't have the kaffir lime leaves, so zexted a lime. We also didn't have the palm sugar, so I used agave nectar. And I used regular basil leaves instead of Thai basil. It was as good as I've had in any restaurant. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is awesome! Just like the restaurants! I added a bunch of slightly grilled bell peppers to the curry and it was a full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this recipe is PERFECT. we didn't put in the fish sauce, yet it still tasted exactly like the one at my favorite thai restaurant! However, we added some bell peppers for a little extra crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
At the suggestion of the old dude at the local Asian market, I first heated up the oil and added a 4 oz can of panang curry paste with 2 decent-sized crushed garlic cloves, then added sliced chicken and cooked very slowly on low heat until nearly done. I then added 1 TBS of fish sauch, torn/bruised lime leaves (and removed when serving), 1 TBS of palm sugar, and 2 cans of coconut milk and simmered until the sauce thickened slightly, about 10-15 mins. Turned out wonderful and fragrant, and the smell alone had my neighbors asking what I was making, drooling over my front door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love panang curry dishes- chicken, salmon, tofu.... bring them on. I'm actually embarrassed writing this review, because when we made this we didn't have more than half of the ingredients. Since we were in the mood for it, we decided to try making it with what we did have. We cooked the panang paste over medium heat until fragrant, about 1 minute (I didn't add any oil, because I couldn't find a site to tell me how much oil to put in the frying pan. We then added the coconut milk, stirred until incorporated while bringing to a boil. Next, added chicken. Cooked for 5 minutes (that's when it finished cooking). Removed chicken and set aside. Stirred in 2T of brown sugar (instead of palm sugar), and 1T Worsheshire and 1 T soy sauce (we thought we had fish sauce). We simmered that for 20 minutes, to allow the sauce to slightly thicken. Returned chicken to the pan, to warm and cover in sauce. Plated with rice. This was absolutely delicious, we'll definitely be making this again when we have ALL of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I had to substitute a lot of ingredients (brown sugar for the palm sugar; grated lime zest, dash of lime juice, and a bay leaf for the kaffir lime leaves; "regular" basil for the Thai basil leaves), but this dish was still amazingly good. The sauce was so good I kept the leftovers and I plan to make a batch of rice tomorrow just so that the sauce does not go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Tastes great! I added about half a sliced chili pepper in the last 2 minutes. Will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States