Pan-Fried Steak with Marsala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Oh, I just Lovvvee this recipe. This was my first experience with marsala, and it was absolutely finger-licking good. I make this dish several times a month. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Very good indeed. Our only tip is - if you are not making your own chicken broth, use broth that comes in boxes and not cans. Otherwise, when the sauce reduces, you will be left with a slightly metallic taste using canned broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I added Baby Bella Mushrooms and onion, along with corn starch to thicken the sauce. I served it over Garlic Mashed Potatos alongside Steamed Broccolli, and it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Good recipe. Cut back on the rosemary if it is not a favorite for you, this spice does stand out. I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I also rubbed the steaks with vegetable oil and let them stand at room temperature for a couple of hours to tenderize. Other than that I made the recipe as described and it was good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
These were great! Next time I will reduce the sauce a bit longer, as it thins out again when you add the butter. A perfect recipe for when the weather won't allow for outdoor grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This was okay, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
hmmmm, where to begin....i had high hopes for this dish to be scrumptious & followed the recipe as written except to substitute beef broth for chicken broth. the submitter & many reviewers recommended chuck steak so i felt fortunate to find 6 pretty ones (which weighed in at a little over 1 1/2 lbs.) at my meat market. the only problem i encountered was our steaks ended up being very rare when we would have preferred them to be closer to a medium doneness. i pan fried the steaks according to the higher time variable & in addition, kept them heated in a warm oven for 10+ minutes while everything else was being prepared. had i known the instructions were for "rare" then i would have seared the meat on both sides before lowering the heat! aside from this faux pas, the marsala sauce was tasty but thin, needing either further reduction or a thickening agent. this recipe is nice but needs a little tweaking to get it where you want. we enjoyed hasselback potatoes with this dish. thank you for the recipe, lynne. i can only give it 3 1/2 stars but will try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I used thin cuts of T-Bone, which cooked pretty fast. I did forget about the rosemary which might have made a difference because I thought this was very bland. I usually make chicken marsala, which is better for me. I thought I had beef stock, but only had chicken which also might have made a difference. Otherwise, I didn't like this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
We loved it!!! Too subtle with chicken, though, just an FYI!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This was really good. Both the husband and I enjoyed it. I used beef broth instead of chicken & extra garlic. I also used a ribeye steak & tenderized it with oil, so it was very tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States