Pan-fried Polenta with Corn, Kale and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made the polenta in the morning to give it plenty of time to solidify, and it did seem the correct texture when I took it out of the pan, but it crumbled to pieces when I fried it; I think it was the corn kernels. I didn't have kale, per se, but there was a bag if mixed "braising greens" in my CSA box, so sautéed some of those with some additional garlic, and served the polenta over that. The overall taste was good, just the presentation did not turn out as I had hoped! I'll try this again, maybe using a more finely-ground cornmeal and possibly leaving out the corn (serving it on the side, perhaps?).Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Muller Bolger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I haven't actually tried yet but as soon as I get the ingredients I will. I love Polenta and have never made it and anything using goat cheese and Kale has to be great, the ingredients just work together. I gave it a 5 star just reading the recipe sounds fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cowgirll
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was delicious! The only change I made was to add some seasoning to the kale while it sauteed, and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been a little bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
this looks pretty, but doesn't have the follow through for our family. If i were to fry polenta, i wouldn't bother with the olive oil on account of the aftertaste. Once an oil is heated that hot, it looses its health benefits anyway. This dish was too many steps and not great enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I used regular cornmeal instead of stone ground... not sure if that had anything to do with the fact that my polenta kept sticking to the pan and in the end turned out to be a goopy mess... I don't think I'll ever try this recipe again. It took too much effort and time, and the results were frustratingly mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Took WAY too long to cook and ended up with a flavorless mess. The only redeeming quality is the recipe is inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Loved it! For those too lazy to follow these long winded directions, you can buy dried polenta and it cooks in about 10 mins not 30. Resting in the fridge over-night might also be a useful thing to do in advance just to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Cooked almost exactly as listed save for used minced leeks instead of garlic, used Trader Joe's Herb butter reduction instead of regular butter, and added 2 tbs of It. blend cheese with the parm for more cheesy flavor. Turned out very delicious! The hubby and I were both going back for seconds! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
oh lala! this was yummy! i did make a few changes...i had the 'tube' of polenta, i just sliced that up and cooked it in the olive oil with some dried basil, dried rosemary, and garlic. i did not have fresh tomato's, so i used a can of tomato's and a can of corn. placed both on top of polenta and smothered it with the goat cheese. of course, i put over the bed of kale that i sauteed up. i did not use any water, just a little oil. the whole family loved this dish~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was way too much polenta for two servings, in fact, I made it into 8. However, my polenta turned out a little gel-like and stuck to my frying pan. Turned into a gloppy mess, not a nice golden brown cake. Disappointed but will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States