Pan-fried Polenta with Corn, Kale and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
oh lala! this was yummy! i did make a few changes...i had the 'tube' of polenta, i just sliced that up and cooked it in the olive oil with some dried basil, dried rosemary, and garlic. i did not have fresh tomato's, so i used a can of tomato's and a can of corn. placed both on top of polenta and smothered it with the goat cheese. of course, i put over the bed of kale that i sauteed up. i did not use any water, just a little oil. the whole family loved this dish~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Great recipe to get me to eat my greens. I find the polenta recipe makes 8 servings, so I use the extra triangles for later in the week. The un-fried polenta keeps well in the fridge and can be fried up for a quick meal with the greens. If you don't have fresh tomatoes use a bit of sauce. I top with fresh shredded mozzerella because I cook for a "non funky cheese eater" and goat cheese classifies as a "funky cheese" to him :-p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
very tasty make sure you chill it enough also you can cook the polenta in stock to give it even more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
We cut the polenta into smaller pieces because we served it with another side dish and fish and it wouldn't been too much. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great recipe. I modified it slightly to just cook all listed ingredients in a large skillet. Once blended (about 15 minutes), I left it on the stove on Medium High (cover off) and let the bottom get brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Cooked almost exactly as listed save for used minced leeks instead of garlic, used Trader Joe's Herb butter reduction instead of regular butter, and added 2 tbs of It. blend cheese with the parm for more cheesy flavor. Turned out very delicious! The hubby and I were both going back for seconds! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Loved it! For those too lazy to follow these long winded directions, you can buy dried polenta and it cooks in about 10 mins not 30. Resting in the fridge over-night might also be a useful thing to do in advance just to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I haven't actually tried yet but as soon as I get the ingredients I will. I love Polenta and have never made it and anything using goat cheese and Kale has to be great, the ingredients just work together. I gave it a 5 star just reading the recipe sounds fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cowgirll
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was delicious! The only change I made was to add some seasoning to the kale while it sauteed, and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been a little bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made the polenta in the morning to give it plenty of time to solidify, and it did seem the correct texture when I took it out of the pan, but it crumbled to pieces when I fried it; I think it was the corn kernels. I didn't have kale, per se, but there was a bag if mixed "braising greens" in my CSA box, so sautéed some of those with some additional garlic, and served the polenta over that. The overall taste was good, just the presentation did not turn out as I had hoped! I'll try this again, maybe using a more finely-ground cornmeal and possibly leaving out the corn (serving it on the side, perhaps?).Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Muller Bolger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States