Pan-fried Polenta with Corn, Kale and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
Yum! I didn't have time to make the polenta, so I used store bought polenta and mixed in fresh corn, garlic and basil. Goes great with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I converted this vegetable side dish into a whole meal by adding a nice piece of grilled salmon. A very elegant presentation. The goat cheese really makes it, so don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This recipe was good, but I gave it fewer stars for the amount of trouble it took and the fact that a cup of cornmeal makes WAY more than two servings of polenta! I increased the amount by half and used only half of that for four people. The rest of the proportions are about correct for four people as is. The goat cheese was a nice touch. Be sure to use tasty tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This is a great polenta recipe that develops polenta-lovers of whomever eats it. I graded down a star, though, because this recipe is much better without the greens and goat cheese. It tastes best covered in a chunky tomato sauce or a hearty chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was my first time making polenta, and the recipe was very easy to follow. I made the mistake of using a smaller pan than recommended, which made the polenta too thick and hard to fry. If I make it again, I will make the polenta the night before..seems to fry better after it has been chilled longer. This makes a great meal, its delicious and looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Great recipe to get me to eat my greens. I find the polenta recipe makes 8 servings, so I use the extra triangles for later in the week. The un-fried polenta keeps well in the fridge and can be fried up for a quick meal with the greens. If you don't have fresh tomatoes use a bit of sauce. I top with fresh shredded mozzerella because I cook for a "non funky cheese eater" and goat cheese classifies as a "funky cheese" to him :-p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
very tasty make sure you chill it enough also you can cook the polenta in stock to give it even more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was just okay for me. It felt like something was missing and the polenta was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
We cut the polenta into smaller pieces because we served it with another side dish and fish and it wouldn't been too much. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Although very expensive time-wise, the ingredients were pretty cheap ('cept the goat cheese) so I thought I would give this a try and I'm glad I did. I made the polenta last night while watching TV, so I didn't actually lose much time over it. Yes, the polenta mixture made a lot, but it is perfect for saving for later. The goat cheese is a little on the creamy/rich side, so don't be greedy like me and crumble sooo much on top. I'm not a cheese connoisseur but I would describe it as kind of sour? I actually made this sans kale because my grocery store was out (yeah, weird, I know), but I think the kale would have been the perfect contrast to the cheese (I've had kale before). I broiled for about 5 minutes, which is about a minute after the cheese started browning. I wish I had for a little less because the tomatoes were squishier than I would have liked them (I've never actually broiled anything before). Next time I eat this I will try broiling without the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States