Pan-fried Polenta with Corn, Kale and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made only one change to the recipe, and that's that I substituted mozarella for goat cheese (I don't like goat cheese). I loved the texture and flavor mix of this dish, but it still tasted a little bland. I'm going to make it again and add some green hot sauce to it. I think it'll be even better then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this as a side dish but I can't imagine this serving only 2 people as a main dish. This makes a lot of polenta! I don't like tomatoes, so didn't add them, but the polenta with goat cheese and kale tasted great together. Served with halibut. I just wished the polenta was thicker and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great recipe. I modified it slightly to just cook all listed ingredients in a large skillet. Once blended (about 15 minutes), I left it on the stove on Medium High (cover off) and let the bottom get brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I used a store bought polenta. And didn't bother with the corn. I also topped with a chunky homemade ragu, since tomatoes are not really that great right now. Love the combination of flavors. Absolutely have to have the goat cheese. That's what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Although very expensive time-wise, the ingredients were pretty cheap ('cept the goat cheese) so I thought I would give this a try and I'm glad I did. I made the polenta last night while watching TV, so I didn't actually lose much time over it. Yes, the polenta mixture made a lot, but it is perfect for saving for later. The goat cheese is a little on the creamy/rich side, so don't be greedy like me and crumble sooo much on top. I'm not a cheese connoisseur but I would describe it as kind of sour? I actually made this sans kale because my grocery store was out (yeah, weird, I know), but I think the kale would have been the perfect contrast to the cheese (I've had kale before). I broiled for about 5 minutes, which is about a minute after the cheese started browning. I wish I had for a little less because the tomatoes were squishier than I would have liked them (I've never actually broiled anything before). Next time I eat this I will try broiling without the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
We cut the polenta into smaller pieces because we served it with another side dish and fish and it wouldn't been too much. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was just okay for me. It felt like something was missing and the polenta was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
very tasty make sure you chill it enough also you can cook the polenta in stock to give it even more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Great recipe to get me to eat my greens. I find the polenta recipe makes 8 servings, so I use the extra triangles for later in the week. The un-fried polenta keeps well in the fridge and can be fried up for a quick meal with the greens. If you don't have fresh tomatoes use a bit of sauce. I top with fresh shredded mozzerella because I cook for a "non funky cheese eater" and goat cheese classifies as a "funky cheese" to him :-p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was my first time making polenta, and the recipe was very easy to follow. I made the mistake of using a smaller pan than recommended, which made the polenta too thick and hard to fry. If I make it again, I will make the polenta the night before..seems to fry better after it has been chilled longer. This makes a great meal, its delicious and looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States