Pan de Sal - Filipino Bread Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by thelizel
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Added more sugar and flour. No bread improver needed. Taste better than most Pan De Sal bakery bread in SoCal. Used my bread machine of course :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelizel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very easy, and doesn't take too long to make . . .all things considered! I left out the bread improver--didn't have it, didn't know what it was, so I looked it up. Apparently a sub is crushed vitamin c with a bit of water, and it's to help proof the bread when you don't have time to do it. So . . .not really needed at all then! And these were fine without it. They are very soft, and yes, a tad bland, but most pple eat rolls with butter or oil dip anyway, so it's no big deal. I ended up with more rolls than stated, since I'm not good at dividing up dough. The little ones were just as good, though. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I make this every week without bread improver and using a bread machine on dough cycle. I get lots of compliments. I use this recipe to make AN PAN, Cinnamon rolls, Hamberger buns, and dinner rolls. And sometimes - just like the recipe says - rolling in breadcrumbs! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
the best pandesal recipe so far. no modifications, but left the bread improver out. really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Did this in a breadmaker and the dough was so sticky I had to remove it in clumps out of the pan which resulted in dough sticking to my hands instead, so had to use a lot of flour to remove. Otherwise the result was very good and soft bread.Gave my mom a few pieces as she's been hankering for pan de sal like the ones we used to get at the "panaderia", will ask for her feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Soooo good! Im Filipino and I have been having a seriously bad craving for pandesal these past few months! (yes MONTHS). I grew up eating this stuff and still did up until I migrated to the US 3 years ago, and I have to say this tastes and looks just like Pan de Manila pandesal! A few alterations I made: 1 1/3 cup evaporated milk instead of just 1, 1/2 tsp salt, and I read online that bread improver is bad for you so i opted out on that. It doesn't have as much flavor as the stuff you buy from your local 'sari-sari' store, but I'm guessing thats because I didnt use bread improver. Filipino or not, I highly recommend trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I was pressed for time and used my bread machine to mix this dough. This is by far the best roll recipe ever. I cannot believe how wonderful and fluffy the inside was and how golden and crisp the crust was. I made three batches in a row for dinner (we had company coming) and I have two left!!! On a side note, I did have to bake them for 12 minutes, but I think my oven marches to a different drummer. This is fantastic and will replace all of my other dinner roll recipes. Thank you for sharing it -- I could not be happier!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
i remember this bread i still eat it we get it straight from the Philippines my favorite i was in the Philippines a couple months ago we had to walk to a store for breakfast to get Pan de Sal Lahing Pinoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myangelaliyah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Good, but nothing special. Results in a moist, dense, slightly sweet bread. Reminiscent of challah. I find that I need about 3 c flour for 1 c liquid, and here the eggs add an additional 1/2 c liquid, so I needed a good bit more flour than called for (probably about 4 c).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I never had a better roll than this. Made it exactly by recipe except for bread improver and did not roll in crumbs at the end. I will be making these for special occasions from now on. I used the bread machine through the first rising then shaped them myself. They had to rise about an hour the second time and I baked them for 10 minutes. You won't be disappointed in these rolls for flavor, softness and appearence. Wow! what flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States