Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Preparation was easy. I followed the recipe exactly except for cooking 10 minutes less than stated. I'm glad I checked because if I had left it in longer, the bottom would have blackened. The glaze on the bread was awesome and I probably sprinkled a little more sugar on top then called for. While the taste of the bread was good, I did find the texture to be dry. In hindsight, maybe a tablespoon of oil mixed in with the milk and eggs, might help with the dryness. It was good soon after getting out of the oven, but the dry texture was more noticeable when eaten later on in the evening. I tossed the remainder of the bread the next day. If it wasn't for the dryness, I think this recipe would rate 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennicel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Ironically, this bread of the dead made me feel alive!! And on this day, this particular day, I really like that! Excellent recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Amazing! I did add the extra 2TBS or so of water and a little extra margarine and it came out fantastic and moist. I did have an odd phenomenon in that is seemed to bake REALLY quickly, even though I double checked my oven temp and verified it with a thermometer. It looked done in 20 mins, though it wasn't. I turned the temp down a bit to let it remain baking through and through. I can't get over how good it was. We did it without anise and used orange oil instead of zest, and did 1/3 the amount. I know they say it does 15 servings but you'd better serve it fast or people are going to be asking for much bigger pieces once they taste it! ;) Thank you for posting this recipe!!! I think it's going to make an excellent king cake around Mardi Gras time, but without the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this because our Spanish teacher had showed us some and it looked really yummy. The outside with the glaze is pretty yummy but the inside was kinda boring. Make extra glaze to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
November 1, 2013 My son and I made this recipe for his Spanish class. We made several substitutions: anise extract instead of seeds, orange extract instead of zest and we used half All Purpose flour and half bread flour. We also added 2 tablespoons of water to the recipe. We used a bread machine to make the dough on the quick cycle. It was easy to shape into a skull. We baked at 325 for 25 minutes. We made one large skull and a small one, also. Loved the orange glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this exactly as explained and it was great! Smelled wonderful, looked great, and both children and adults were delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe without orange zest and added cinnamon instead. It came out soooooo delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
easy and yummy. I actually brought the recipe down to 8, just to try it and it worked out wonderful. Loved the glaze and sugar topping, omitted the anise (I didn't have any) but thought the orange added a nice flavor. Much like a cinnamon roll with a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
i've made this the last 2 years for my mother in law and she loves it. it's a super easy recipe and i usually make a medium sized loaf and 2 small loaves. the only thing i changed is using 2 1/2 cups of flour because if you use 3 full cups the dough becomes dry and a little tough. all in all i will keep making this recipe every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States