Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is our first year living in Italy and in the States I would normally buy "pan de Muerto" for Nov 2nd but this year I had to make it. This recipe was great! Very easy and tasted amazing. For those who can't find anise seed... I used three drops of anise extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very good. I added about 1/4 cup fresh orange juice as my orange was a bit short on zest. Instead of anise seed, I added about 1 tsp cinnamon. I did not use the glaze. Instead, I buttered he loaf and sprinkled a cinnamon sugar mix over it. I might try with a glaze in the future While the bread is soft and tasty, it does need a topping of some sort for extra flavor as the dough itself had a delicate taste. I also did omitt he anise though! It's a versatile recipe that you could add or change the flavor for very easily, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Baked this for the first time last night, in time for today. It worked very well and I like the flavour a lot. It's subtle, not overpowering. Only one family member did not like it, my daughter, but she has a serious sweet tooth so it just wasn't sweet enough for her, even with the glaze and sugar sprinkled on top. Otherwise, a big hit in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Brookie Cookie
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made Pan de Muertos with my stepdad and it turned out great! it was for a class project in my spanish class -Brooklyn G. and Del
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
There are so many reviews on this bread, but I have to say: I have made this bread several times now, and EVEN ON THE FIRST TIME - I say EVEN as I am a haphazard baker prone to very foolish mistakes - I made this bread it turned out so well that a native Spaniard thought I had gotten it from a bakery. It is VERY easy, and very tasty - in America you do not usually see licorice breads, and the taste and texture were both a new experience but a very pleasurable one. This bread seems as if it would go with anything - with tea or coffee in the morning or for lunch, with salad or any sort of spread, by itself, with fruit, with chocolate (although, what DOESN'T go with chocolate...)... When I make it it never rises or "doubles in size." In fact, it is still sticky enough where I have to use flour and reshape it as/after I put it in the pan AFTER the 3 hours of "rising time." Somehow, however, it still turns out fantastic - just make sure you bake it long enough! It still tastes good under baked but is a little too moist and solid than is traditional. Overall, you can't go wrong with this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Preparation was easy. I followed the recipe exactly except for cooking 10 minutes less than stated. I'm glad I checked because if I had left it in longer, the bottom would have blackened. The glaze on the bread was awesome and I probably sprinkled a little more sugar on top then called for. While the taste of the bread was good, I did find the texture to be dry. In hindsight, maybe a tablespoon of oil mixed in with the milk and eggs, might help with the dryness. It was good soon after getting out of the oven, but the dry texture was more noticeable when eaten later on in the evening. I tossed the remainder of the bread the next day. If it wasn't for the dryness, I think this recipe would rate 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennicel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Ironically, this bread of the dead made me feel alive!! And on this day, this particular day, I really like that! Excellent recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Amazing! I did add the extra 2TBS or so of water and a little extra margarine and it came out fantastic and moist. I did have an odd phenomenon in that is seemed to bake REALLY quickly, even though I double checked my oven temp and verified it with a thermometer. It looked done in 20 mins, though it wasn't. I turned the temp down a bit to let it remain baking through and through. I can't get over how good it was. We did it without anise and used orange oil instead of zest, and did 1/3 the amount. I know they say it does 15 servings but you'd better serve it fast or people are going to be asking for much bigger pieces once they taste it! ;) Thank you for posting this recipe!!! I think it's going to make an excellent king cake around Mardi Gras time, but without the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this because our Spanish teacher had showed us some and it looked really yummy. The outside with the glaze is pretty yummy but the inside was kinda boring. Make extra glaze to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
November 1, 2013 My son and I made this recipe for his Spanish class. We made several substitutions: anise extract instead of seeds, orange extract instead of zest and we used half All Purpose flour and half bread flour. We also added 2 tablespoons of water to the recipe. We used a bread machine to make the dough on the quick cycle. It was easy to shape into a skull. We baked at 325 for 25 minutes. We made one large skull and a small one, also. Loved the orange glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States