Pan-Seared Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
First of all, my fish looked like the picture which AMAZED me because although I'm not a beginner cook I tend to over batter fish. This was AMAZING. My fiance loved it! There are things I changed just to suit my tastes...(I am sure the original recipe would have been just as good.) I added onto the normal salt and pepper...Old Bay, garlic salt, more paprika, a little ground red pepper, onion powder and then I dusted it with flour. What helped me know that the pan was hot enough was something I learned from the Food Network. I just took a tiny pinch of flour and tossed it in the oil...if it started to cook or bubble...that's how you know it's ready for the fish. I did not use the extra unsalted butter. THIS WAS AWESOME! My fiance ate the whole thing before I could sit down! He said it was better than his mom's! :) He even told his mom about it! Thank you so much for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
546 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
So simple and good! You can add whatever seasoning you like to the flour. (I used blackened seafood seasoning) I made a garlic-butter, parsley and lime sauce to go on top. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Just made this for dinner tonight. It turned out great. My family and I thought it was a great way to prepare tilapia. My filets didn't need 4 min per side. I only had them on each side for approx. 2 min. Paired this with a green salad and it made for a great, easy and quick weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very good! The whole family enjoyed it. I added Old Bay, Garlic Salt, Onion Powder, Paprika, and Crushed Red Pepper to the flour before coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I used lemon pepper seasoning instead of regular black pepper. If gave it a hint of lemon flavoring. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
It came out better than I anticipated, I rarely use flour for breading fish. And, I've never fried Tilapia, always grilled or baked. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdumas329

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
As written we rated a 4 as we felt it needed a little more spice. The next batch we took the advice of others and added in Old Bay Seasoning and left out the butter as we felt in was not necessary. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is my first review! I made this awhile ago but i have been making it on the regular basis now for awhile! This was AWESOME! I was looking for a way to prepare tilapia other than baking it and this was a HIT! The only difference i do is add a little lemon juice to the butter before drizzling it! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We followed the recipe with the salt and pepper mix. We felt that we were going to have a problem with the oil. Seemed like we didn't have enough to give the pan a good coating. Other than that we loved the fish and would plan on cooking it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy and yummy! For something fried.. this is really not greasy. It was a two thumbs up from the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make a healthier version of Parmesan-crusted tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States