Pan-Seared T-Bone for Two with Rosemary Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
AMAZING dish. It poured on my anniversary and I'd planned to cook my hubby some steaks outdoors, so last mI inute a friend suggested pan-searing it indoors. I've always used a grill for steaks. She pulled up this recipe for me and I twirked it with what I had on hand. Delicious. I altered the recipe to feed SIX, but didn't have the amount of broth needed. I had maybe 1/2 cup of ham juice (frozen) on hand, so that's what I used. I was really unsure of how this would turn out because ham and steak just doesn't sound like it would mix, but I'm glad I tried it. It's a new family favorite and was SO easy to cook. My t-bones were big and it took them about 10-15 minutes per side to get them medium-well. The 3-4 minutes suggested would have left them rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My fiance and I received two steaks from his brothe-in-law and decided tonight that we wanted to make them. So I looked up recipes and this one came up. It sounded good to both of us, so we decided to give it a try. My fiance was adament that he be allowed to make the steaks so I let him. Neither of us really cared for the sauce. He didn't like the rosemary and I thought there was too much mustard. So I did some revising to better suit our tastes. After that I thought it was just fine. But all he tasted was the rosemary. So if we make this again we just won't put the rosemary in at all. After fixing the sauce, I believe I really would've enjoyed eating this. Except my fiance over-salted the steaks so I couldn't even eat it without the sauce. Overall, I didn't find it that great. But if we decided to make this again, I'll definitely be the one cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I used NY strip steaks instead. It was good, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was delicious! Rave reviews from my family! I made a few changes to suit my tastes. First, I made it into a marinade in order to grill my steaks. I know T-bones are tender already, but this made them even better! For 4 steaks, I added 3/4 cup red wine, 1/4 pomegranate balsamic vinegar. This added a slight fruitiness that was yummy! I'm sure any fruit vinegar would work. I reduced the broth to 2 cups total. In addition to the other ingredients I added a heaping spoonful of garlic. Marinated the steaks for 6 hours or so then grilled. I also boiled the remaining marinade and added a cornstarch-flour mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this for my husbands birthday and may I say, we both fell in love with it! I added just a little extra wine but it was so yummy. I had extra sauce and have put it over chicken and potatoes. Thank you for posting this and I am going to make it tonight for dinner. We are excirted to eat tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandave
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Amazing, we added mushrooms to the sauce but that was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I had some left over t-bone meat, and used this recipe for the sauce. When I tasted the sauce in the pan, it was a little strong for my taste, but drizzled over the meat, it added some really nice flavor. Would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was a very good recipe and very easy to make! My t-bone may have been a little thicker but it took longer than the time on the recipe to get to medium-rare. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States