Pan-Seared Scallops with Pepper and Onions in Anchovy Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I'm still reeling from how absolutely delicious this dish was! We prepared it just as written, and it was fantastic - I was leary of the anchovies but they deepened the flavor without overpowering the scallops at all. The one issue we had with the recipe is that if prepared as written, the scallops are not necessarily seared on both sides because the water from the peppers prevents the browning of the second side. Next time we might try searing both sides before adding the peppers, maybe even removing the scallops once cooked and then adding the pepper mixture, then mixing it all together at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was excellent. I didn't have anchovy oil so I added some bacon instead. I served it with angel hair pasta which I seasoned with butter and garlic salt. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Restaurant quality! I followed the advice of a few others and sauteed my vegetables in olive oil first and then removed them from the pan. Then I added the anchovies in the oil and cooked them down, then cooked the scallops so they could brown. Then I added the cooked vegetables (so the scallops didn't overcook). I served them with Rachel Ray's recipe for Lemon Spaghetti and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this for Father's Day and we loved it. I did not have the anchovy or the yellow/orange pepper, but it still turned out great. I also increased the cooking time since the scallops I had were just huge. I served it with sauted spinach and rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Great! I made this exactly as written. The anchovy oil and citrus work beautifully with the scallops and veggies. As another reviewer mentioned, you may want to sear your scallops on both sides before adding the vegetables. Mine turned out nicely browned on one side, and sauteed on the other - which was fine. I tossed them with little linguine and chopped parsley. Nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Decreased the olive oil and cooked the veggies first. I love anchovies and I could definitely taste the anchovies in this recipe. I will make this again but you really need to cook the veggies first and decrease the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was soooooooooooooo good, and better yet, QUICK & EASY!!! I served it over angel hair pasta tossed in garlic and EVOO...all I can say is...YUMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
We loved this dish. I also cooked the vegies first. It is very important not to over cook the scallops. They only need to be seared 3 to 4 minutes. Lovely flavors in he recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Hauntingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This has become one of my fiancee's fav dishes. Don't oversalt the scallops, and consider serving with a flavorful wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Jay Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States