Pan Seared Salmon and Scallops with Macadamia-Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This salmon was flaky and flavorful. I seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I couldn't get the large scallops so I used a bag of frozen mini scallops (thawed) instead. I just sauteed them in one of the pans with a little salt and garlic powder. Unfortunately, I used up ingredients making the pesto because my family didn't like it at all, but I think it was worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
The salmon tasted divine - yumm!! The pesto was over-powered by the lemon juice & zest, so going to try it with only a squeeze of lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I was hesitant about making a pesto that was not the traditional basil/parmesan pesto - but WOW this pesto was incredibly refreshing and delightful. I wanted the salmon to have more flavour, so I added a pinch of black pepper, thyme, garlic powder, and oregano before searing it. I used grapeseed oil instead of olive oil to sear the salmon and scallops b/c it has a higher smoke rate. I really enjoyed this recipe!!! I found that using a microplane grater w/ the ginger was extremely beneficial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Used the pesto on salmon. Skipped the ginger and poached the garlic to cut the sharpness. Delicious! Would be great on many proteins or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Pretty good! I made some changes - I used shrimp instead of scallops and served it all with linguine and halved cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very tasty. I didn`t use ginger in the pesto and it was delicious too. I agree you may use this pesto on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I had very high hopes for this recipe because it sounded SO good and I followed it to a "T". I think this recipe should just be listed with the pesto on it's own. I think I would've liked the pesto better on another type of protein. Perhaps a seared beef on some orrechiette pasta. Really, you could use the Pesto on anything. I would make a couple changes to it though. Unfortunately, I couldn't find macadamia oil and I wish I had because I think it really is essential to this recipe. There was something about the raw taste of the garlic that I didn't enjoy (and I LOVE garlic)...next time maybe I would use garlic powder or roasted garlic. But overall, Thanks for the recipe...it really was an amazing combination of flavors...so many flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is a 'Winner' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very tasty, fast and easy to make. The cilantro-maca pesto is a recipe worth knowing on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States