Pan Seared Salmon and Scallops with Macadamia-Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This salmon was flaky and flavorful. I seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I couldn't get the large scallops so I used a bag of frozen mini scallops (thawed) instead. I just sauteed them in one of the pans with a little salt and garlic powder. Unfortunately, I used up ingredients making the pesto because my family didn't like it at all, but I think it was worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
The salmon tasted divine - yumm!! The pesto was over-powered by the lemon juice & zest, so going to try it with only a squeeze of lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I was hesitant about making a pesto that was not the traditional basil/parmesan pesto - but WOW this pesto was incredibly refreshing and delightful. I wanted the salmon to have more flavour, so I added a pinch of black pepper, thyme, garlic powder, and oregano before searing it. I used grapeseed oil instead of olive oil to sear the salmon and scallops b/c it has a higher smoke rate. I really enjoyed this recipe!!! I found that using a microplane grater w/ the ginger was extremely beneficial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Used the pesto on salmon. Skipped the ginger and poached the garlic to cut the sharpness. Delicious! Would be great on many proteins or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Pretty good! I made some changes - I used shrimp instead of scallops and served it all with linguine and halved cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very tasty. I didn`t use ginger in the pesto and it was delicious too. I agree you may use this pesto on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I had very high hopes for this recipe because it sounded SO good and I followed it to a "T". I think this recipe should just be listed with the pesto on it's own. I think I would've liked the pesto better on another type of protein. Perhaps a seared beef on some orrechiette pasta. Really, you could use the Pesto on anything. I would make a couple changes to it though. Unfortunately, I couldn't find macadamia oil and I wish I had because I think it really is essential to this recipe. There was something about the raw taste of the garlic that I didn't enjoy (and I LOVE garlic)...next time maybe I would use garlic powder or roasted garlic. But overall, Thanks for the recipe...it really was an amazing combination of flavors...so many flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is a 'Winner' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very tasty, fast and easy to make. The cilantro-maca pesto is a recipe worth knowing on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States