Pan Seared Salmon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Living here on the Pacific Coast salmon is a staple and plentiful in season,whether it be Spring (Steelhead), Sockeye or Coho they all have different grades of fat and should be cooked accordingly, so don't assume that all salmon are similar.My preference is fresh Spring. Pan frying is fine but for full flavour and texture I sear one inch thick filets for 30 seconds per side and then lay on a parchment lined tray and bake on the middle shelf of the oven, preheated to 450F for about 4 - 5 minutes. Lemon wedges certainly but a Parsley sauce for satisfaction. A good Reisling for pairing. Bon appetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Hey people - how can you complain about blandness? Salmon, when not overcooked, is heaven on a plate, no matter how it is prepared. If you need to practice with fish, stat with thin fillets and cook for a minute or two on each side. Most fresh fish cooks up in less than the standard 10 minutes per inch. If your salmon is completely opaque, you have probably overcooked it. Please experiment and don't overpower your wonderful food with too much external flavor. Save the extra herbs and spices for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Easy in toaster oven with creole seasoning from Tony cache re's.400 d. For 10min. Depending on thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very good simple recipe for those of us seeking a high protein low fat nutritious meal; very good! I have to say, however, to those of you using a nonstick pan, DO NOT ADD OIL OR NON STICK SPAYS TO THAT EXPENSIVE PAN... YOU WILL REGRET RUINING THE NON STICK FINISH! Use, as the author of this recipe recommended, a heavy cast iron or stainless steel skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very simple yet delicious recipe. Thank you for the tip to heat the pan first. It makes all the difference. This is my first use of capers. I can't imagine how I've not used them before - gorgeous flavor. Olive oil is perfect for this recipe. I use Pompeian Organic Extra Virgin. I had no problems with it and the heat of my heavy stainless steel pan. This recipe is also wonderful served with Narsharab as a dipping sauce. Narsharab is a pomegranate sauce which can be hard to come by unless you live near a Russian community. You can order it on Amazon though the price is rather steep. NetCost grocery stores carry it near the fish section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hello kitty
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious and easy! I made it in regular frying pan, like other reviewers I put some olive oil in the pan instead of rubbing the salmon with oil. Instead of cooking with the capers, I put 1 table spoon of caper juice while cooking and garnished with the capers once I put the salmon on the plate. (capers will roll off the salmon and burn on the bottom of the pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hello kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made it with salt and roasted garlic/herb seasoning. It was delicious! In fact, my husband, who is a salmon connoisseur, said it was better than restaurant salmon. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks Noreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very tasty, and very easy to make. My husband does most of the cooking, but I have taken on one night a week and this was one of my first attempts. We both loved it, and I wasn't too intimidated to make it! It will be added to our regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great! Easy, clean, fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was a very quick meal to make, but the recipe was very basic and the flavor didn't have much to it. The capers didn't really add much to the salmon flavor. it might be better with a caper sauce. I'll make it again, but it wasn't fantastic. I too sprayed the pan and then I used a lemon rub on the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States